1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice

Apache errors with command line, but not cp

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by jas8522, Aug 21, 2005.

  1. jas8522

    jas8522 Basic Pleskian

    24
    23%
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada
    When I run apachectl graceful it shows:


    Segmentation fault (core dumped)
    /usr/local/psa/apache/bin/apachectl graceful: configuration broken, ignoring restart
    /usr/local/psa/apache/bin/apachectl graceful: (run 'apachectl configtest' for details)

    If I run apachectl configtest I get:

    [Sun Aug 21 14:47:23 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xx:443 has no VirtualHosts
    Syntax OK
    Segmentation fault (core dumped)

    Dosen't tell me much. However if I use the control panel to stop/start/restart apache, it works just fine! I can even stop it in apache and run the apachectl start command to start it without issue...

    Any ideas?

    Jordan
     
  2. worker

    worker Guest

    0
     
    Its not technically and error, just a warning. Maybe you have a ip set to shared without anyone using it?
     
  3. jamesyeeoc

    jamesyeeoc Guest

    0
     
    Question: Why are you using the Plesk apachectl? You should have a separate apachectl in /usr/sbin which would be the one for controlling the client/Hosting Apache. Plesk servers usually have 2 separate Apache's installed: one for the control panel, and one for the hosting. They may not be the same version.

    If you are trying to start/stop/restart the control panel apache, try using '/etc/rc.d/init.d/psa restart'
     
  4. jas8522

    jas8522 Basic Pleskian

    24
    23%
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada
    worker I changed all my IP's to dedicated rather than shared - same problem. Anything else you can think of that would cause this? Remember that syntax is right, yet it's still faulting.

    jamesyeeoc: What are you saying dude? apachectl is for apache .. normal web services that are controlable by the control panel. They have all of the virtual host settings etc.

    The apache that's in /usr/sbin is the one that comes installed with freebsd and has NONE of the configuration files (httpd.include primarily) set up with it's httpd.conf. It is NOT to be used, and I had to make sure that my .cshrc file properly calls apachectl from the /usr/local/psa/apache/bin directory. That is how it MUST be for any of your control panel added vhosts to be read and used.

    Originally my problem was that I didn't have apachectl set to run the correct one. But now i'm back to the same problem. Stop and Start works fine, but graceful and restart tells me there's an error, and to run apachectl configtest. When I run it, it says Syntax OK then right below it "Segmentation fault (core dumped)"

    Keep in mind that graceful and restart worked prior to the 7.5.3 upgrade from 7.5.2
    If anyone has any other ideas, let me know,

    Jordan
     
  5. jamesyeeoc

    jamesyeeoc Guest

    0
     
    Sorry, I must have been on too much nyquil when I wrote that. Also I didn't know you were running FreeBSD, on RH type systems the /usr/sbin/apachectl is the one to use.
     
  6. jas8522

    jas8522 Basic Pleskian

    24
    23%
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada
    Hahah nyquil is some good stuff ;)

    Ahh, that definitely makes a bit more sense now..

    Jordan
     
  7. jamesyeeoc

    jamesyeeoc Guest

    0
     
    Yes it is, especially when you mix it with Jack Daniels or Southern Comfort (to improve the taste!)
     
  8. hardweb

    hardweb Guest

    0
     
    Can you check the core dump with gdb to trace the issue? It can be due to a PHP extension.
     
  9. jas8522

    jas8522 Basic Pleskian

    24
    23%
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada
    Here's the output

    I ran gdb -c httpd.core (the core output file from running apachectl graceful). Here is the output:

    GNU gdb 4.18 (FreeBSD)
    Copyright 1998 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
    GDB is free software, covered by the GNU General Public License, and you are
    welcome to change it and/or distribute copies of it under certain conditions.
    Type "show copying" to see the conditions.
    There is absolutely no warranty for GDB. Type "show warranty" for details.
    This GDB was configured as "i386-unknown-freebsd".
    Core was generated by `httpd'.
    Program terminated with signal 11, Segmentation fault.
    #0 0x0 in ?? ()


    So the first useful line I already know - Core was generated by httpd.

    Signal 11 appears to be the numerical value of Segmentation fault, so not much there. and our offending memory address is 0x0..

    So I ran GDB based on the executable and core file as follows:

    gdb /usr/local/psa/apache/bin/httpd /usr/local/psa/apache/bin/httpd.core
    GNU gdb 4.18 (FreeBSD)
    Copyright 1998 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
    GDB is free software, covered by the GNU General Public License, and you are
    welcome to change it and/or distribute copies of it under certain conditions.
    Type "show copying" to see the conditions.
    There is absolutely no warranty for GDB. Type "show warranty" for details.
    This GDB was configured as "i386-unknown-freebsd"...(no debugging symbols found)...
    Core was generated by `httpd'.
    Program terminated with signal 11, Segmentation fault.
    Reading symbols from /usr/lib/libz.so.2...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
    Reading symbols from /usr/lib/libcrypt.so.2...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
    Reading symbols from /usr/lib/libperl.so.3...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
    Reading symbols from /usr/lib/libm.so.2...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
    Reading symbols from /usr/lib/libc.so.4...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
    Reading symbols from /usr/lib/libutil.so.3...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
    Reading symbols from /usr/local/psa/var/cgitory/PPWSE-1.1-1.1/lib/ioncube/ioncube_loader_fre_4.3.so...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
    Reading symbols from /usr/libexec/ld-elf.so.1...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
    #0 0x0 in ?? ()

    So I still get no memory address or function that's creating the problem... it dosen't even stop in the midst of loading a specific file.

    If this means anything to anyone else, let me know!

    Thanks,

    Jordan
     
  10. jas8522

    jas8522 Basic Pleskian

    24
    23%
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada
    Wait, there's more!

    I figured out that I should type run graceful to make it attempt the graceful restart from within the gdb command line. Here's the output:

    (gdb) run graceful
    Starting program: /usr/local/psa/apache/bin/httpd graceful
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    [Thu Aug 25 06:59:35 2005] [error] Can't locate Apache.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /usr/home/builder/pb_work_dir/psa_aiconfig_7.5.3/psa/release/dist/usr/local/psa/apache/site_perl/5.00503/i386-freebsd /usr/local/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.005/i386-freebsd /usr/local/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.005 . /usr/libdata/perl/5.00503/mach /usr/libdata/perl/5.00503 /usr/local/psa/apache/ /usr/local/psa/apache/lib/perl) at (eval 1) line 3.\n
    [Thu Aug 25 06:59:35 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.18.115.154:443 has no VirtualHosts
    [Thu Aug 25 06:59:35 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.18.115.155:443 has no VirtualHosts
    [Thu Aug 25 06:59:35 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.18.115.158:443 has no VirtualHosts
    [Thu Aug 25 06:59:35 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.18.115.156:443 has no VirtualHosts
    [Thu Aug 25 06:59:35 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.18.115.157:443 has no VirtualHosts
    (no debugging symbols found)...
    Program exited with code 02.


    So to eliminate the Apache.pm file as an issue I copied it in to one of the listed directories (as I had it in multiple locations). I ran run graceful again and got the following:

    Starting program: /usr/local/psa/apache/bin/httpd graceful
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    ---Type <return> to continue, or q <return> to quit---
    [Thu Aug 25 07:24:31 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.18.115.154:443 has no VirtualHosts
    [Thu Aug 25 07:24:31 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.18.115.155:443 has no VirtualHosts
    [Thu Aug 25 07:24:31 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.18.115.158:443 has no VirtualHosts
    [Thu Aug 25 07:24:31 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.18.115.156:443 has no VirtualHosts
    [Thu Aug 25 07:24:31 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 67.18.115.157:443 has no VirtualHosts
    (no debugging symbols found)...(no debugging symbols found)...
    Program exited with code 02.

    No more problems found, yet still exiting. And of course, when I run configtest or graceful I still get core dumped.

    I could be wrong about this, but the fact that it gets to the "has no virtualhosts" part would mean that it's not exiting until it's AT LEAST at the top of the httpd.include file for plesk. And possibly that it's in to whatever files are scanned following the scan of the httpd.conf file.

    Jordan
     
  11. hardweb

    hardweb Guest

    0
     
    Does apache work if you DO NOT include httpd.include?
     
Loading...