1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

awstats Features

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by aaabyss, Mar 1, 2007.

  1. aaabyss

    aaabyss Guest

    0
     
    How do we change the reporting period in awstats?

    i.e. Check last month to compare with this month, etc

    Awstats normally has a drop down box to select the period that plesk obviously removed along with the update now button and other standard awstats features.

    Is there anyway to get the 'standard' feature set back? Or add it on?

    It seems that plesk decided for us that we want a very 'lite' version of awstats!

    I vote for the FULL VERSION!

    Can we call anything from the URL?

    TIA
     
  2. aaabyss

    aaabyss Guest

    0
     
    More to the point would be how/where can we configure awstats server-wide (global) how we want it to appear and perform and not just on a per-domain level?

    TIA
     
  3. eugenevdm

    eugenevdm Silver Pleskian

    30
    68%
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem. How can I get AWStats to show me the previous month's data? I used to be able to do this with 4PSA Advanced Statistics.

    So far I have found this link in the forum:

    http://awstats.sourceforge.net/docs/awstats_config.html#AllowFullYearView

    AllowFullYearView
    Version : 5.9+

    # AWStats save and sort its database on a month basis, this allows to build
    # build a report quickly. However, if you choose the -month=all from command
    # line or value '-Year-' from CGI combo form to have a report for all year,
    # AWStats needs to reload all data for full year, and resort them completely,
    # requiring a large amount of time, memory and CPU. This might be a problem
    # for web hosting providers that offer AWStats for large sites on shared
    # servers to non CPU cautious customers.
    # For this reason, the 'full year' is only enable on Command Line by default.

    # You can change this by setting this parameter to 0, 1, 2 or 3.
    # Possible values:
    # 0 - Never allowed
    # 1 - Allowed on CLI only, -Year- value in combo is not visible
    # 2 - Allowed on CLI only, -Year- value in combo is visible but not allowed
    # 3 - Possible on CLI and CGI
    # Default: 2
    #
    AllowFullYearView=2

    ------

    So this raises a number of questions:

    1. Do we use the CGI version of AWStats?

    2. Has anyone experience in enabling last month's data?

    3. Will modifying "awstats.model.conf" do this for all sites or do I have to modify configuration files elsewhere to get the option on existing sites.

    I will be nice if some of these questions can be addressed by SW-Soft because statistics is an integral part of any web site and our favourite hosting automation product people should help us at much as possible :)
     
  4. balu

    balu Guest

    0
     
    I'm fairly sure that the answer is no to all your three questions.

    Balu
     
  5. aaabyss

    aaabyss Guest

    0
     
    The way I've always been used to awstats was in a frameset with the navigation on the left side and at the top it had a box with:
    Last Update: date - time - Update now button <-- you could click the button to update now
    Reported period: dropdown month dropdown year OK <-- you could select date range to report

    Where do we edit the file to configure these things and can we do it SERVER-WIDE instead of by domain? (vhost)

    TIA
     
  6. JLChafardet

    JLChafardet Regular Pleskian

    26
    57%
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Caracas - Venezuela
    cd /usr/local/psa/etc/awstats
    ls
    now vi any of the configuration files
    go to line 259
    :259

    you will see this interesting fact.

    From line 242 to 259

    # AWStats saves and sorts its database on a month basis (except if using
    # databasebreak option from command line).
    # However, if you choose the -month=all from command line or
    # value '-Year-' from CGI combo form to have a report for all year, AWStats
    # needs to reload all data for full year (each month), and sort them,
    # requiring a large amount of time, memory and CPU. This might be a problem
    # for web hosting providers that offer AWStats for large sites, on shared
    # servers, to non CPU cautious customers.
    # For this reason, the 'full year' is only enabled on Command Line by default.
    # You can change this by setting this parameter to 0, 1, 2 or 3.
    # Possible values:
    # 0 - Never allowed
    # 1 - Allowed on CLI only, -Year- value in combo is not visible
    # 2 - Allowed on CLI only, -Year- value in combo is visible but not allowed
    # 3 - Possible on CLI and CGI
    # Default: 2
    #
    AllowFullYearView=2

    i think, we are runing cgi not cli, that should be changed to 3, will give a try and post results.(what a pain, now we need to figure out how to patch them all, by hand if we want all domains, on all stats to show full year vew.

    anyway, will post back in a few mins
     
  7. JLChafardet

    JLChafardet Regular Pleskian

    26
    57%
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Caracas - Venezuela
    no luck, not even editing by hand that value, still doesnt give me the option to check back old months stats, only list them (and did on default config file) on the Monthly history.

    which on my own domain looks like:

    Mar 2007 490 650 1603 6021 318.45 MB
    Apr 2007 9 11 28 169 5.03 MB

    so, who knows.

    lets hope swsoft fixes this.

    cheers!
     
  8. hamood123

    hamood123 Guest

    0
     
    I would be very interested to know this as well. AWstats has absolutely no documentation on this ...
     
  9. hamood123

    hamood123 Guest

    0
     
  10. aaabyss

    aaabyss Guest

    0
     
    Thanks hamood but that's way over my head and I don't understand why we have to do all of this anyway???

    Plesk should FIX all this without everyone having to do all these work arounds.

    TIA
     
  11. hamood123

    hamood123 Guest

    0
     
    I agree plus AWSTATS doesn't seem like a very user friendly tool.
     
  12. balu

    balu Guest

    0
     
Loading...