• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Can't connect to localhost:25

phoenixisp

Silver Pleskian
OK, I really screwed the pooch somehow. Since upgrading to 7.5.4 on a RH 9 box, and updating Spamassassin, a lot of spam was getting through that wasn't prior to the updates. So - I started playing with rule sets, etc. I wound up uninstalling SA and ART's qmail-scanner, but now - even without them I can't connect to port 25. I've tried telnet, no good. I tried webmail and Outlook - no good.

Where did I mess up? I tried the maillog, even tailed it, but there's no errors because no connection is being made. Also, I disabled the firewall.

Help please!

Thanks,

Sonny

Here's another little problem, it must be related. I figured maybe the database was affected, so I did:

/usr/local/psa/admin/sbin/mchk -v

And came up with:

[root@host1 queue]# /usr/local/psa/admin/sbin/mchk -v
mchk: db_connect: failed to connect to database: Error: Too many connections
mchk: Unable to connect to the Plesk database

And of course I stopped mysql and started it again - no good! I can though read the database using phpMyAdmin.

Argghh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

here's what happens when I try to send from Horde:

Warning: fsockopen(): unable to connect to 127.0.0.1:25 in /usr/share/psa-horde/pear/Net/Socket.php on line 108

Check the contents of:

/etc/hosts
/etc/resolv.conf

/var/qmail/control/me
/var/qmail/control/locals
/var/qmail/control/localiphost
/var/qmail/control/helohost

Make sure your domain's DNS is still resolving properly.

See if anything is listening on port 25:

netstat -an |grep ':25'

And if qmail is running in memory:

ps -ax |grep 'qmail'

Thanks jamesyeeoc, but I just found the problem.