• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Database user permissions.

S

Sanma

Hello,

I'm new to plesk and i'm facing the problem that i have no idea of how to change the permissions to database users.
The thing is that i need a user with full rights, and another one with read-only rights, and i don't know how to change the permissions.

Can someone help me here?

Thanks.

Nick.

CLI for user management

If you're new to Plesk... are you familiar with the command line interface (SSH)? If not, you may not want to try to tackle this unless you really like to learn a lot of new things.

My suggestion is to install a separate copy of phpmyadmin... one that allows more control and user management (although PHPmyadmin as I understand it doesn't actually create mysql users). To create mysql users, you'll likely have to do this through SSH access, hence my comment above.

Check out this link for some interesting information concerning what you're looking for:
http://wiki.cihar.com/pma/user_management

Many people install a new copy of phpmyadmin anyway b/c Plesk doesn't allow you access to it outside of the control panel. Many DB users like to access phpmyadmin through a unique URL. And... it's pretty easy to install, really. Take 5-10 minutes.

Hopefully that helps!

But that sepparate copy wont be the same as the default phpmyadmin already installed in plesk?
I don't really care about separate URLs, it's the same for me, i just want the user permission feature.

If you can recommend me a program or way to do it it'd be great =)

And yeah, i've used SSH. Before adding plesk i was like 3 weeks trying to manage with directadmin, but i figured a good control panel would be better haha.

Thanks