1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Distb. DNS server not getting zone data

Discussion in 'Plesk Expand Distributed Services Topics (Mail, DNS, Databases)' started by JohnnyHeavens, Mar 2, 2007.

1. JohnnyHeavens

JohnnyHeavens Guest

I am pretty new to plesk/expand so I be looking in the wrong place for things so please just let me know if none of this information helps.

The DNS server seems to have added to Expand just fine (I actualy opened a ticket for this to get working) but when I check a zone the server does not answer authoritatively or have any records that have been entered on the plesk server.

However I don't see anything that looks like it is not working in the dnscontroller.log

Thanks for any help!

2. bandurao

bandurao Guest

Issues like this cant be helped out without seeing the server actually. But you can try the switch DNS option in Plesk.This option refreshes the DNS zone of that domain.

3. JohnnyHeavens

JohnnyHeavens Guest

Common now, there isn't anything that can't be fixed over a forum. :)
    Thanks for the reply and switch DNS trick. I gave that a try but still seem to have the same issue.

Any other ideas? Everything looks ok except when I look up the domain on www.dnsreports.com I get a "lame name server" error. In other words, the distributed dns server does not return any records.
    i.e. from the above report...
    "ERROR: You have one or more lame nameservers. These are nameservers that do NOT answer authoritatively for your domain. This is bad; for example, these nameservers may never get updated. The following nameservers are lame:
    x.x.x.1"
    and