• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

DNS Help

N

nelsok

I am new to hosting.

I just collocated my server. I have 1u and 5 static IPs. The place I collocated at has 3 DNS servers. Can I use these servers for my sites in plesk or do I need to create my own DNS servers? If I do need to create my own I would like to create both servers on the same box(I know this is a bad thing to do but I only have 1u). Another thing I do not understand about dns is why each domain needs to have its own ns.domain.com

I registered ns.domain.com and ns1.domain.com with my registrar as being domain servers and assinged them each a differant IP. I think this is needed as part of setting up my DNS servers on my machine.

Any help would be great.

Thanks

Maybe I should be more specific. I do not understand the differance between the DNS settings within plesk and the dns settings I would have to on a dns server. why does plesk create dns entries? Do i still have to create the same dns entries on the dns server?

kyle.

Originally posted by softpac2000
Kyle,

Read this posts:

http://forum.sw-soft.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=14373

http://forum.sw-soft.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13528

As far as using other DNS servers, you can do so.

Make the Plesk DNS server your Primary Name Serverand the others your Secondary Name Servers. That way whatever changes users make to the DNS entries, will be replicated to the other secondary servers.

Hope this helps!
Ricardo...

when you say "the primary plesk dns server do you mean the ns.domain.tld that the plesk dns template creates for each new domain?

I do not want to use other DNS servers. I do not know if pleask is its own DNS server or if I HAVE to use other DNS servers.

kyle

Kyle,