• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

How do I install ASP.NET 3.5?

K

Kricket@

Sorry guys I am a complete novice to plesk. I have just bought a remote 3rd party hosted dedicated server. I have only realised now that it offers ASP.NET 2.0 support, but not 3.5. I have no help from the hosting company, the pricks.

Can someone give me a blow by blow account on how to install ASP.NET 3.5 on the machine please. I have done it on my local machines, but they are windows xp. Assume I am a 5 year old.

(The domain is setup and it easily runs ASP.NET 2.0 pages).

Much appreciated.

Thats the problem. How do I know I have root access to my machine. What does it look like in Plesk? How do I get there from Plesk desktop?

The nearest folder setup I can find is; using the links from plesk desktop - Home> Choose my Domain> File Manager = is this my root?

Oh, I was referring to remote desktop connectivity to the server.

Can't see newly installed ASP.NET 3.5 version in plesk.

Yes, I finally figured it out. I didn't know about the Remote Desktop Connectivity program in windows. Works great. Another problem now is. I have installed ASP.NET 3.5Framework on the server but I cannot see it on the ASP.NET versions in plesk. I still only have 2 choices, 1.1.4322.0 and 2.0.50727.0. Anyone know how I can fix this or what i haven't done.

Thanks

Okay, one other thing, modify the properties of the Remote Desktop Connection on your computer and add /console to the path, like so:

%SystemRoot%\system32\mstsc.exe /console

This will ensure that you're logging-in as console and not creating a different remote session each time. it's entirely possible that Plesk is not yet 3.5 ready, I don't see it in the docs yet.

plesk supports asp.net 3.5
but it will not show this version on the domain setup page to choose