1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

How many domains, can i have on single machine

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by mr_exclusive, Jan 17, 2007.

  1. mr_exclusive

    mr_exclusive Basic Pleskian

    24
    73%
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'd like to know, how many domains can i run on a single machine with 4GB RAM and opteron 2200 dual core. I have alredy 400 domains, and cpu usage is max 5%, but i had to increse some variables like: mysql memory to 768MB, apache memory to: 256MB, lately open files limit i had to increse becouse i have now 40.000 open files on my system and i'd like to know, is this safe to have 40.000 files open? will the server hold this?


    sorry for my english :rolleyes:

    gr.
    mr
     
  2. Wingman

    Wingman Guest

    0
     
    I think Plesk 7.5 could run 2000 or more domains with your hardware config. Cant see that SWsoft have have posted anything about this on Plesk 8.1.
     
  3. mr_exclusive

    mr_exclusive Basic Pleskian

    24
    73%
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, but swsoft could write an example of
    server settings that i should change from
    linux default to higher values to handle 2000 domains.
     
  4. mr_exclusive

    mr_exclusive Basic Pleskian

    24
    73%
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there someone on this forum who has actualy over 1000domains on a single machine???
     
  5. brainlag

    brainlag Guest

    0
     
    we got 800 per machine
     
  6. mr_exclusive

    mr_exclusive Basic Pleskian

    24
    73%
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    coul'd you write me what did you change from linux defaults to handle 800domains?

    mysql settings
    apache settings
    ulimit settings

    and whatever else you had to change to get this working.
     
  7. coldstone

    coldstone Guest

    0
     
    I have the same problem now.
    Too many open files.
    It was because apache open for each User the Logfiles.

    By disbabling several logfiles in the users httpd.conf, the server will work fine. Without any error.

    We have +- 300 Domains on this machine ! I suppose the the kernel need to be compiled with more then 1024 open files.

    But I did not find the right solution now...
     
  8. blank_page

    blank_page Regular Pleskian

    24
    53%
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    try

    ulimit -n 8192

    for example.
     
  9. nickpick

    nickpick Guest

    0
     
Loading...