1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Max domains in APACHE

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by littlefrog, Jan 20, 2005.

  1. littlefrog

    littlefrog Regular Pleskian

    25
     
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Heres a brain tickler for ya... :mad:

    I have psa 7.5.1 installed with an unlimited domains lisence.

    In PSA if I add more then 500 virtual hosted domains I get errors all accross the board on every domain on the server.

    Sometimes it says too many files open

    Sometimes it says you do not have permission to view this folder

    Sometimes Apache won't load at all and says Cant Open Log Files!

    When I say sometimes I mean this.

    Once I get the errors in order for the server to work right again I need to delete however many domains it is to get under the 500 mark.. It is actually 495 to be exact. Once I do that server runs fine again. Add another domain and I get one of the three errors. Once I get that error it is the same error until I delete ANY domain. Note that it is ANY domain not limited to the newly created domain. When the error happens it happens to every domain on the server.

    One the errors in the error log is
    ---------
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/src/build/276269-i386/install/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/mod_python/apache.py", line 63, in ?
    File "/usr/lib/python2.2/pdb.py", line 13, in ?
    import re
    File "/usr/lib/python2.2/re.py", line 27, in ?
    from sre import *
    File "/usr/lib/python2.2/sre.py", line 97, in ?
    import sre_compile
    File "/usr/lib/python2.2/sre_compile.py", line 15, in ?
    from sre_constants import *
    ImportError: No module named sre_constants
    [Thu Jan 20 10:47:24 2005] [error] make_obcallback: could not import mod_python.apache.!
    ---------

    Of course there is a Python update available from PSA but I can't install it becuase the default installation of PSA is missing a dependant package so I can't use the auto updater and this package is not available for invdividual download.

    Talk about a show stopper. :confused:

    My server is a Dual Xeon 2.0 Gz with 2 Gig of Ram.

    Ev1 Servers is my ISP and they have no clue what the error is and only suggestion for me is to do a system restore... which is not an option cuse it means that all domains would be down .. bla bla bla.. can't go there.

    Probably something I have to have the SW-Soft team to look into. I Just got this server less then a month ago and so far not been to happy with the errors I been getting.
     
  2. Brian

    Brian Guest

    0
     
    This might work..

    Edit the httpd.conf file.
    cd /etc/httpd/conf/
    vi httpd.conf

    ## Server-Pool Size Regulation (MPM specific)
    ##

    # prefork MPM
    # StartServers: number of server processes to start
    # MinSpareServers: minimum number of server processes which are kept spare
    # MaxSpareServers: maximum number of server processes which are kept spare
    # MaxClients: maximum number of server processes allowed to start
    # MaxRequestsPerChild: maximum number of requests a server process serves
    <IfModule prefork.c>
    StartServers 8
    MinSpareServers 5
    MaxSpareServers 20
    MaxClients 150
    MaxRequestsPerChild 1000
    </IfModule>

    # worker MPM
    # StartServers: initial number of server processes to start
    # MaxClients: maximum number of simultaneous client connections
    # MinSpareThreads: minimum number of worker threads which are kept spare
    # MaxSpareThreads: maximum number of worker threads which are kept spare
    # ThreadsPerChild: constant number of worker threads in each server process
    # MaxRequestsPerChild: maximum number of requests a server process serves
    <IfModule worker.c>
    StartServers 2
    MaxClients 150
    MinSpareThreads 25
    MaxSpareThreads 75
    ThreadsPerChild 25
    MaxRequestsPerChild 0
    </IfModule>

    # perchild MPM
    # NumServers: constant number of server processes
    # StartThreads: initial number of worker threads in each server process
    # MinSpareThreads: minimum number of worker threads which are kept spare
    # MaxSpareThreads: maximum number of worker threads which are kept spare
    # MaxThreadsPerChild: maximum number of worker threads in each server process
    # MaxRequestsPerChild: maximum number of connections per server process

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. RexAdmin

    RexAdmin Guest

    0
     
    You've probably hit limit of maximum open files at your system. Apache keeps log files constantly open, you should disable logging or tweak the server open file policy.

    Good luck.
     
  4. Brian

    Brian Guest

    0
     
    Thanks

    Thankyou for the help RexAdmin.
     
  5. littlefrog

    littlefrog Regular Pleskian

    25
     
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will try these things and post back here if anything works.. thanks for the compass
     
  6. littlefrog

    littlefrog Regular Pleskian

    25
     
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update

    Well ...

    After changing the FD Amount and recompiling PHP, IMAP, and APACHE

    ADDING in the unlimit value into httpd service
    and changing some sysconfig stuff

    The server is now running with almost 700 domains.
     
  7. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Ive seen as many as 4000 on one box. (Dont be that guy!). Amazing that people are still asking this question. I remember threads on this back in PSA 1.3 :p
     
  8. genxer

    genxer Guest

    0
     
    Ive seen as many as 4000 on one box. (Dont be that guy!). Amazing that people are still asking this question. I remember threads on this back in PSA 1.3 :p

    I have almost 3,000 and I remember the 1.3 days and someone kind enough to help us fix it too with our measly 1,000 domains @ the time.

    Recomplie apache and your fine.

    ;)
     
  9. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    haha, was that me who did that?

    You also need to rebuild the imap library and php (in that order).
     
  10. littlefrog

    littlefrog Regular Pleskian

    25
     
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well those are some of the things i did.

    After getting the error
    Too Many Files Open error in /etc/httpd/error_logs

    I did these steps to fix.

    Steps:
    1) Recompiled IMAP according to http://faq.sw-soft.com/index.php?ToDo=view&questId=173&catId=40

    2) Recompiled PHP according to same doc.

    3) Recompiled Apache in similar method to PHP and IMAP
    according to http://faq.sw-soft.com/index.php?ToDo=view&questId=134&catId=29

    4) Did this according to a suggestion of a user on the boards
    a. Run sysctl -w fs.file-max=16384
    b. Edit /etc/sysctl.conf. Add a new line with: fs.file-max=16384
    c. Edit /usr/sbin/apachectl. Find the line that says ulimit -n 8192 and change it to ulimit -n 16384.
    d. Restart apache: /usr/local/psa/admin/sbin/my_apci_rst.

    5) Changed MaxClients in /etc/httpd/conf/httpsd.conf to
    # prefork MPM
    <IfModule prefork.c>
    StartServers 8
    MinSpareServers 5
    MaxSpareServers 20
    MaxClients 100
    MaxRequestsPerChild 500
    </IfModule>

    # worker MPM
    <IfModule worker.c>
    StartServers 2
    MaxClients 100
    MinSpareThreads 25
    MaxSpareThreads 75
    </IfModule>

    Now something I am getting once every 24 hrs or so is it appears apache has crashed. I am not able to visit any domain. When I check apache to see if it is running it says that it is. Shows just over 100 pid files too. I restart it and it comes back up. Here is error message in log file /etc/httpd/logs/error_log

    [Tue Mar 01 06:33:11 2005] [error] server reached MaxClients setting, consider raising the MaxClients setting

    Oddly the setting was originally 50. Anyone have any ideas now?
     
  11. littlefrog

    littlefrog Regular Pleskian

    25
     
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    AN ANSWER HAS BEEN PROVIDED!!!

    :D EV1 Servers and I have finally resolved this issue.

    2 Things and I hope this helps someone else.

    I am also going to start a new topic with symptoms and resolution.

    For me the Segmentation Fault was being caused by OpenSSL which simply had to have the src package downloaded and rebuilt just like I had to do with apache.

    Also had to change around the settings in apache for max clients and such.

    Here is what i currently am using.

    ########################################
    # APACHE SERVER/MAXCLIENT SETTINGS
    ########################################
    ServerLimit 600

    <IfModule prefork.c>
    StartServers 10
    MinSpareServers 10
    MaxSpareServers 80
    MaxClients 1000
    MaxRequestsPerChild 40
    </IfModule>

    <IfModule worker.c>
    StartServers 2
    MaxClients 600
    MinSpareThreads 25
    MaxSpareThreads 75
    ThreadsPerChild 25
    MaxRequestsPerChild 10
    # Turned off to use less memory
    # HTTPD memory usage went from 29M to 26M per pid
    ThreadGuardArea off
    </IfModule>

    # Research this
    #ListenBacklog
    ########################################

    If anyone looks at this and sees that I should make a change please speak up.
     
Loading...