1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Mysql 5 on plesk 7.5 ?

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by basara55, Oct 18, 2005.

  1. basara55

    basara55 Guest

    0
     
    Has anybody been able to install mysql 5 on plesk 7.5 ?

    Thanks
     
  2. basara55

    basara55 Guest

    0
     
    Ok , I installed Mysql 5.0 on Fedora Core 2 with plesk. After few problems I was able to get Mysql working but...

    Plesk is not functioning 100% , On certain pages there are sql query errors.

    Does anyone know if Plesk is compatible with mysql5 ?
     
  3. acidbox

    acidbox Guest

    0
     
    It's not officially supported, no.
     
  4. nblackburn

    nblackburn Guest

    0
     
    ist a good idea to make plesk compatible with mysql 5.
     
  5. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Ive found a lot of other web apps need to be updated to work with mysql 5, so just making PSA work with it wouldnt be enough at this time. Everyone else still needs to catch up.
     
  6. chrisl@

    chrisl@ Guest

    0
     
    Give it some time. MySQL 5.0 was just released and it will take some time for all the applications out there to get working with it. I noticed that Fedora Core 3 which is the latest version of Fedora that is listed as supported by plesk still runs on MySQL 3.x. Will plesk run under 4.x with no problems?
     
  7. nhaworth

    nhaworth Guest

    0
     
    any update on when MySQL 5 support will be included into Plesk?

    I've installed MySQL 5 but am having all sorts of difficulties as a lot of Plesk's database queries are now failing due to the change in the processing of JOIN queries in MySQL 5.
     
  8. acidbox

    acidbox Guest

    0
     
    It's definitely not compatible yet. I believe some of the community members have tried to get it to work with no avail.

    No word from plesk on when this will be avaiable.
     
  9. nhaworth

    nhaworth Guest

    0
     
    Thought as much -- in the end I downgraded back to 4.1.15, as I'm not particularly confident that this is on Plesk's to-do-list in the near future!

    Still, although MySql have described it as a production release it still feels like a beta product given the number of problems I've seen reported around the web.
     
  10. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I can confirm that going to 5.0 will require you to upgrade a lot of applications. On the system I'm testing it on, we're looking at having to rewrite most of the custom applications, and some of the forum and gallery apps. I think we need to wait for a while for the app vendors to catch up to 5.0.
     
  11. vangok

    vangok Guest

    0
     
    Just wonna ask about php5. Is it stable version in your yum repo now can i use it for production vps?
     
  12. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    It will be going live in the main channel shortly, otherwise you can pull it from the atomic-testing channel.
     
  13. vangok

    vangok Guest

    0
     
    last time i tried it, horde and mail was off and it was quite unstable...is it stable now or let's ask ather way, would you adwise to install php5 from testing chanal for production site?
     
  14. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Given that it comes with CentOS4, and FC4 by default (which work with PSA), and my packages are backports from FC4 and CentOS4 I'd say yes (Im on PSA 7.5.4). Im running PHP5 on all my systems, from RH9 to CentOS4. The only thing I know of for a fact that does not co-exist with 5.0 is oscommerce. I dont use it myself, so I couldnt tell you if the version in PSA 8 works with it or not.
     
  15. AlbertS

    AlbertS Guest

    0
     
    I dont really get it...

    Is it safe to update for php/mysl5 or what?

    There in ur bleeding channel?! Can't find u channels btw on new website?!
     
  16. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Hey sorry about that, the link should be up now.

    PHP 5.0 - works fine
    PHP 5.1 - some apps break (horde, oscommerce, etc)
    Mysql 4.1 - works fine
    Mysql 5 - breaks PSA (cant delete, some login errors)
    Mysql 5.1 - really really breaks PSA (cant log in)
     
  17. AlbertS

    AlbertS Guest

    0
     
    What about running php5 as cgi?!
     
  18. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    It does have the binary in there for running from the CLI. This is not designed however to run concurrently with php4. My packages are all upgrades that will remove the older versions. I believe serverpeak.com and/or seekbrain.com was putting out cgi only versions of php 5, I'd check out their site to see if they still support them.
     
  19. Mr.Yes

    Mr.Yes Guest

    0
     
    Hi Atomic Scott,

    i'm on RHEL3/Plesk 7.5.4 and i've updated to MySQL 4.1 without problems via your yum channel, now i would like to update to Php 5, is it stable?

    I tried to do this update on a test box with same OS an Plesk version and everythings gone fine, just :
    "yum update php" without deinstalling old php or remove php-domxml. Can i trust this way to update my Php on a production server too following this easy way?

    thanx
     
Loading...