1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

pleskbackup backups >1 GB

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by breun, May 22, 2006.

  1. breun

    breun Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use pleskbackup --all filename to backup a Plesk 8 server. However it seems that when filename grows over 1 GB pleskbackup closes filename and start writing to filename.001. I don't want this behavior, I just want an archive in 1 file that I can easily scp to another server. Do I need to adjust my backup script to tar the files together or is there some option I can pass to pleskbackup to just create a single archive (like psadump did on Reloaded).
     
  2. Traged1

    Traged1 Guest

    0
     
    The Linux file system cannot handle files larger then 2GB, if your backup file grows larger then 2GB your backup file will be useless and just sit there taking up space on your server.
     
  3. thewolf

    thewolf Regular Pleskian

    25
    57%
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is not true with the recent Linux distribution, I have files much bigger that 2GB with RHL9 on ext3 filesystem or later and they work just fine.
     
  4. Traged1

    Traged1 Guest

    0
     
    Good to know, thanks for the update. I honestly never checked on our newer Linux servers as I did not want to have the file system messed up, but I guess if you have tested this, then maybe you are correct. I stand corrected.
     
  5. breun

    breun Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Indeed, with Plesk 7.5 I had backup files of several gigabytes. No problem for ext3 filesystems. But no one knows why pleskbackup splits its output into 1 GB files? I also noticed the documentation doesn't mention this fact at all.

    I wrote a little script to transfer the backup file to a remote server, but later noticed the pleskbackup command started to produce multiple files, so I was transferring only part of my backup. Luckily I found out in time or I might be stuck with a useless backup.
     
  6. JLChafardet

    JLChafardet Regular Pleskian

    26
    57%
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Caracas - Venezuela
    Just FYI

    Code:
    export PLESKX_SPLIT_SIZE=21474836480
    
    that command set temporary the backup split file size to 20 gb if you want one whole single file for your backup, run it, then

    /usr/local/psa/bin/pleskbackup --all /path/to/where/create/the/backup/filename

    regards,
     
  7. breun

    breun Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you.
     
  8. JLChafardet

    JLChafardet Regular Pleskian

    26
    57%
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Caracas - Venezuela
    No problem, glad if it helped :)
     
  9. breun

    breun Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually I already created a work around in my script. I just scp filename* instead of filename to a remote host. By the way, how did you know you have to change this variable? Could I have found out myself?
     
  10. JLChafardet

    JLChafardet Regular Pleskian

    26
    57%
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Caracas - Venezuela
    probably not, i had to ask SW-Soft support, they were working on my box because pleskbackup was borked, and then i asked "hey i want a full whole file for backups, not a bunch of em" and they answered to me with that variable change.
     
Loading...