1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice

PSA 7.5.2=>7.5.3 FreeBSD 4.9 Problems and Resolutions

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by voodoochile, Jun 15, 2005.

  1. voodoochile

    voodoochile Guest

    0
     
    Here are the things I've run into with the new version of PSA and how I resolved them. All of these ihese issues occured on all of my hosting boxes.

    1. Downloaded file is not the most current, I needed to install the 7.5.3 hotpatch via the GUI installer :(

    1. Webmail was broke on. Fix: httpd includes needed updating. Did this by running /usr/local/psa/admin/bin/websrvmng –a , Give it awhile, then restart httpd after 5-10 mins to be on the safe side.

    2. Tomcat install corrupts the server.xml file and loses all psa-* directories in /usr/local/psa/tomcat4. You can see this in effect when you try to enable/suspend a domain using a .war file, you'll get a funky error about XML Tags in the server.xml file. THIS IS BAD if people actually use it. Fix: Restored server.xml and psa-* directories from backup. ]

    3. I had PassivePorts options set in the /usr/local/psa/etc/ftpd/proftpd.conf file, this was overwriten. Fix: Readded. Caveat: This happened for my qmail custom configs too. PSA: PLEASE DIFF THE CONFIG FILES, then patch. PLEASE PLEASE.

    4. Spamassassin doesn't fire off correctly after the upgrade. just issue a /usr/local/psa/rc.d/psa-spamassassin restart and you're golden.

    That really seems to be it. It was a farily clean upgrade and much better than the ones in the past. Good job guys. :)
     
  2. kevin@

    kevin@ Basic Pleskian

    24
    23%
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I pretty much noticed the same thing.

    I can't install the hotfix because I'm on 4.10 and the autoinstaller complains about it :(

    *sigh*

    why the hell wouldn't they post the hotfix so I could just download it and apply it like all the others?

    and nice job of moving to Horde 3.0 and not even compiling domxml into PHP/apache! sheesh!
     
  3. voodoochile

    voodoochile Guest

    0
     
    Kevin,

    There's a fix for the 4.10 thin on these forums somewhere, I believe someone made a shell script that echoed a modified 'uname -a' line with 4.9-RELEASE instead of 4.10 and replaced the uname binary with this script.


    =)
     
  4. kevin@

    kevin@ Basic Pleskian

    24
    23%
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    i saw it a while ago but now i cant find it... d'oh!
     
  5. kyomedia

    kyomedia Guest

    0
     
    If only we had seen this earlier!
     
  6. voodoochile

    voodoochile Guest

    0
     
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    case "$1" in
    
    "-v")
    echo "FreeBSD 4.10-STABLE #0: Tue May 10 15:45:13 CEST 2005 [email]admin@servername.com[/email]:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/servername"
    ;;
    "-a")
    echo "FreeBSD servername 4.10-STABLE FreeBSD 4.11-STABLE #0: Tue May 10 15:45:13 CEST 2005 [email]admin@servername.com[/email]:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/SERVERNAAM i386"
    ;;
    "-s")
    echo "FreeBSD"
    ;;
    esac
    
    Save it as a file called 'uname', then chmod +x it. Copy your old 'uname' in /sbin/ to like uname.backup and replace it with this. Do your upgrade, then swap 'em back.
     
  7. gliffius

    gliffius Guest

    0
     
    That didn't work for me but here's what I did that made the Updater work.

    1. mv /usr/bin/uname /usr/bin/uname-4.10
    2. put the following into /usr/bin/uname:
    #!/bin/csh

    /usr/bin/uname-4.10 $1 $2 $3 $4 $5 | /usr/bin/awk '{ sub(/4.10/, "4.9"); print }'
    3. chmod 0755 /usr/bin/uname
    4. Done!

    On my 4.10 system, uname was in /usr/bin/ . I think uname might be in a different place on some systems. So adjust the above accordingly to your system.
     
  8. Spyder

    Spyder Regular Pleskian

    25
    40%
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im testing this update/grade in our "crash test dummie" machine.. in this way I don´t have backups :(

    There is some other way to restore que Tomcat configs ?? some Ideia ??

    The production machine is a bit older :)

    Tia
     
  9. voodoochile

    voodoochile Guest

    0
     
    If you tar up your tomcat4/ directory, youll be able to recreate the psa-* dirs after the upgrade.

    Otherwise, it just deletes them. (PLZ TO BE FIXING THIS BUG SW-SOFT, KTHX).
     
  10. Spyder

    Spyder Regular Pleskian

    25
    40%
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is the problem.....is too late.. :(

    can you tar you tomcat4/ dir ?? and i download ?

    Tia
     
  11. voodoochile

    voodoochile Guest

    0
     
    dr-xr-x--- 2 root tomcat4 512 Jul 5 08:22 psa-users
    dr-xr-xr-x 4 root wheel 512 Jul 5 08:22 psa-wars
    dr-xr-xr-x 3 root wheel 512 Jul 5 08:22 psa-webapps

    Those are the three dirs that need to be created, the problem is that inside of those directories are subdirectories named after the domain with the java app, i.e.
    /usr/local/psa/tomcat4/psa-wheel/domain.com.

    Inside of those are files created by the control panel when you add Tomcat to an account, and they upload content.

    There *might* be some way to pull it out of a psadump, although I've never had to do anything simliar, so I couldn't say for sure.

    Sorry. =(
     
  12. Spyder

    Spyder Regular Pleskian

    25
    40%
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    and the conf.xml with the psa tags ??
     
Loading...