1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Rootkit Hunter (rkhunter) - How do I update?

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by open4biz, Oct 10, 2007.

  1. open4biz

    open4biz Guest

    0
     
    Is there a way to update Rootkit Hunter? My Plesk Control Panel v8.2.1 has RKHunter v1.2.8 and there's a v1.3.0 out now. What the best / quickest / easiest way to update it?

    I have Fedora Core 6 installed with all the latest updates yum'ed in. I have slight Linux experience. So being verbose might help.

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I should have a new version out in my archive today.
     
  3. Amin Taheri

    Amin Taheri Golden Pleskian Plesk Certified Professional

    33
     
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    http://kb.swsoft.com/en/1323

    to get $PRODUCT_ROOT_D
    Code:
    grep 'PRODUCT_ROOT_D' /etc/psa/psa.conf
    
     
  4. open4biz

    open4biz Guest

    0
     
    My Product_Root_D is: /usr/local/psa

    I tried that and it didn't work:

    $/usr/local/psa/admin/sbin/modules/watchdog/rkhunter --configfile
    -bash: $/usr/local/psa/admin/sbin/modules/watchdog/rkhunter: No such file or directory

    I checked that folder and rkhunter is not in it. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  5. Amin Taheri

    Amin Taheri Golden Pleskian Plesk Certified Professional

    33
     
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    That is odd, I have it in mine....

    try
    Code:
    locate rkhunter | less
    
    and see if you can find it - you may have to do some file copies or sym links

    For example, I had to sym link
    /usr/local/etc/rkhunter.conf to /usr/local/psa/etc/modules/watchdog/rkhunter.conf
     
  6. open4biz

    open4biz Guest

    0
     
    Here's the info from that. What should I do next?
     
  7. Amin Taheri

    Amin Taheri Golden Pleskian Plesk Certified Professional

    33
     
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    your locate shows you have the rkhunter file
    /usr/local/psa/admin/sbin/modules/watchdog/rkhunter
     
  8. open4biz

    open4biz Guest

    0
     
    I feel like I'm getting closer. I copied the rkhunter.conf /usr/local/etc/

    Here's the latest of what I typed and the result:

    I tried the following next and here's the result:

    I'm logged in as root... how can permission be denied?!?
     
  9. open4biz

    open4biz Guest

    0
     
    I was able to update the database for 1.2.8 after taking a break and using a fresh brain. But... still can't figure out how to update to v1.3.0.
     
  10. open4biz

    open4biz Guest

    0
     
    I looked for it Mr. Turtle... no luck. Has it been updated because I've hit a brick wall. I can't figure out how to install v1.3.0 to the same watchdog directory so the Plesk control panel may take advantage of it.
     
  11. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Got sidetracked on some other things and havent finished it yet. I'll see if I can get it out today.

    In response to the other parts of this thread --update just updates the signature files used by rkhunter, it doesn't update rkhunter itself.
     
  12. open4biz

    open4biz Guest

    0
     
    Well, thank you for your work.

    How do you like Joomla vs Mambo vs Drupal?

    I would like to use drupal, but the theme system is unruly and I keep getting stuck while developing for it. How is the templeting system for Joomla? If it's easier... I'll switch over posthaste.
     
  13. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Ive got it in the [atomic-testing] channel now. Its a pretty big change and I haven't worked all my tweaks into it yet.

    I use Joomla myself. Its kind of a pain in the *** to get started with. Once you're going its pretty easy though. Just a steep learning curve. The look and feel is all done with CSS. Same thing with Mambo. Haven't worked with Drupal.
     
  14. open4biz

    open4biz Guest

    0
     


    Should I wait? I guess I don't know what that means to what I'm trying to accomplish. :confused:

    Yes, I know. I've been on your website a couple times. I even clicked a few of the adsense items to get some $$$ to you for your help. :O)

    Drupal is robust and a little daunting. The templates can be made from CSS, PHP/CSS and PHP/javascript/CSS combos. I only want to deal with CSS. The modules are pretty straightforward, though.

    Have you seen this?

    http://www.joomlatemplatekit.com/ar...emplate-kit-the-joomla-template-kit-se-1.html

    Looks promising... a little pricey though. Seems more like a $19-49 product as it does just one thing... hopefully well.
     
  15. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I could use the extra eyes on the package. I rely pretty heavily on the community to test out these releases, and give me feedback.
     
  16. open4biz

    open4biz Guest

    0
     
    Roger. I'll be your test monkey. If I can get it...

    Most semi-intelligent MS-knowledgebased individuals can. At least I remember DOS and the command line. That's been my saving grace with *nix.

    Off to go give it a shot...
     
  17. open4biz

    open4biz Guest

    0
     
    Well... it installed and it's working from SSH... but I don't know how to link Plesk v.8.2.1 to it so that is what runs from Plesks control panel.

    Any ideas?

    (And thank you for package)
     
  18. Amin Taheri

    Amin Taheri Golden Pleskian Plesk Certified Professional

    33
     
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    go to modules and then watchdog and then security and scan, see what it says
     
  19. atomicturtle

    atomicturtle Golden Pleskian

    29
     
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    This doesn't tie into plesk directly. You'd have to do some hacking on your own to do that.
     
  20. open4biz

    open4biz Guest

    0
     
    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha! Oh really? Did you forgot who you're corresponding with?!? That's totally out of my reach if I have to 'hack it.' lol

    Thanks anyway.

    Mr Hosting Guy: the security scan in plesk still says, 'v1.2.8. They must be installed in different directories then. When I whereis, I get:

    rkhunter: /usr/bin/rkhunter /etc/rkhunter.conf /usr/lib/rkhunter /usr/local/etc/rkhunter.conf /usr/share/man/man8/rkhunter.8.gz

    Is there a way to tie to Plesk?
     
Loading...