• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Unhappy mysql error ( Can't connect to local MySql server through socket (2)

B

blackhowling

Hii all , i am a newbie on linux, i have a problem now . when i use mysql command on chrooted bash, an error come up and it said "Can't connect to local MySql server through socket (2)" . Can anybody please help me...

Hello,

Make a backup of your current MySQL configuration file:

cp /etc/my.cnf /etc/my.cnf.bak

Then edit it eg:

pico /etc/my.cnf

I use pico but you can use whatever text editor you prefer.

Look for the [client] section in this file, if it is not there then add this to the file:

[client]
socket=/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock

If there is a [client] section then just add the second socket line above to the section.

Save the file and it should now work.

- Chris

Originally posted by blackhowling
"Can't connect to local MySql server through socket (2)" . Can anybody please help me...

It seems that mysql service is not running on your server. Take a look at the examples below:

$mysql -uadmin -p`cat /etc/psa/.psa.shadow`
ERROR 2002: Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2)

$/etc/init.d/mysqld start
Starting MySQL: [ ОК ]

$mysql -uadmin -p`cat /etc/psa/.psa.shadow`
Welcome to the MySQL monitor. Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 1 to server version: 3.23.58

Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the buffer.

mysql>

When mysql service is not started there is no /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock file created. Also, previous reply was also correct. So don't forget to check if following line persists in /etc/my.cnf file:

Thanx for all your answer . I already try it, but it still don't work . When i add

[client]