• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion
  • Please be aware: Kaspersky Anti-Virus has been deprecated and is no longer available for installation on the current Plesk release (18.0.63).
    Starting from Plesk Obsidian 18.0.64, the extension will be automatically removed from the servers it is installed on. For details and recommended actions, see the Feature and Deprecation Plan and the deprecation FAQ.

Question Best Practices for Backing Up (large) Plesk Servers

Fede Marsell

Basic Pleskian
Server operating system version
Almalinux 8
Plesk version and microupdate number
Hi!

I have been using Plesk for many years, and this is a question I have wanted to ask the community many times :)

For small servers, Pleskbackup is a really good tool. I have used it on many servers without errors, and the backups and restore processes work well.

But for large servers, for example, if a server has 1TB of data (web, mails, databases, etc.), is it still a good idea to use Pleskbackup? Is Pleskbackup still a good tool for backing up large servers? :rolleyes:

In this case, the backup is fragmented into 2GB files, but if the server has 1TB, I end up with 500 files, each 2GB. I think there may be a certain risk if one of these files has an error, and I cannot restore the data.

So, for large Plesk servers, what is the best backup practice?

Could Pleskbackup be a valid solution in this case (with incremental backups and a full weekly backup)? Or is additional software like Borgbackup or others necessary?

At this time, I have a server with 980GB, and I am using Pleskbackup, but I want to know if this can be a risk for large servers.

Thanks!!!