• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Installing shoutcast

M

Merlin05

Hi
I'm brand new to plesk and I'm trying to install shoutcast on my site. Does anyone know how or if shoutcast is compatible with plesk, as I can't find anywhere to run the command from.

Thanks in advance.

With Shoutcast, you essentially have to pretend that Plesk does not exist in terms of setup. Shoutcast requires console access of some sort in order to start it, and runs on a completely independant port from any websites or Plesk itself.
You'll basically need SSH access in order to properly setup and run it.
If you really need some sort of web interface to manage your Shoutcast server, I would suggest something like Webmin... it's free, and simple. There are other options out there, of course, but the best one I knew about decided it was time to switch from GPL to Commercial Licensing and are going to be charging for the use of the script from now on.

Just to soound like a total plesk n00b how do I access SSH

Easiest way is with a program called PuTTy.
You could use the SSH Terminal in Plesk, but its java-based, and I personally find it to be ****.
You will log in with your admin username and password (the same one you use to log into Plesk), on port 22, unless you did the smart thing and moved SSH to a different port for security reasons, in which case you would use that port instead.
You'll be using the admin login because, for security reasons, you should have already by now disabled direct root login access.
Unpack the files. Upload them somewhere (I suggest not using a web-accessable directory). Edit the sc_serv.conf file. Type this into the terminal:
./sc_serv sc_serv.conf &