• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Resolved Mail server problem

zumzum

Basic Pleskian
Hi,

I'm relatively new in Plesk(using web admin edition), but so far I like it.

However, I am having issues with Mail server, I can not connect mydomain.com and make it to work with thunderbird, because it can not connect to the server.

What I have done so far;
1. Registered VPS with OVH,
2. Bought Plesk web admin licence,
3. Registered with Cloudflare and used their name servers, afterwards copied everything from my VPS DNS Settings into Cloudflare settings as is,
4. Created new email [email protected]
5. Downloaded Thunderbird, and tried next settings
Incoming: IMAP
Server hostname: mail.mydomain.com
mail: [email protected]
and various other settings..

But I can not make it work..

Thanks

Make sure at least, that IMAP and SMTP servers are accessible from your workstation. You can check it with telnet, for example:

telnet mail.mydomain.com 143
telnet mail.mydomain.com 25

Thanks for rapid respond.

This is output..

Connection failed: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.

So, make sure that IMAP and SMTP ports are not filtered by firewall and hostname of your mailservers are correctly resolvable to IP address and this IP address is not firewalled too.

Hi IgorG,

I can not see any Firewall enable on OVH Control Panel, everything looks fine.

Is there any documentation for Plesk email configuration?

I was thinking It should be straightaway. Maybe I am missing some settings?

Documentation is here Mail
But I strongly recommend you check that mailserver hostname is resolvable at least.

The problem was so stupid that I can not believe!