• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Resolved A false positive with KernelCare???

LordLiverpool

Basic Pleskian
Hello Pleskians,

I'm a noob so please go easy!

Yesterday I provisioned a new AWS Lightsail Plesk Server running Onyx 17.8.11.

The "dashboard advisor" recommended switching on KernelCare, so I did.

Today I got an email saying:

Some problems occurred with the System Updates tool on your server ec2-nnn-nnn-nnn-nnn.eu-west-1.compute.amazonaws.com. Please resolve them manually.

Reason: 2019-09-24 06:25:49 INFO: pum is called with arguments: ['--update', '--json']

2019-09-24 06:26:28 INFO: no packages to update E:Could not configure 'kernelcare:amd64'. , E:Internal error, packages left unconfigured. kernelcare:amd64

2019-09-24 06:26:29 ERROR: installArchives() failed

2019-09-24 06:26:29 ERROR: Exited with returncode 1.

When I logged in today it looks like KernelCare has already expired!
Wow, that was quick! (see image attached)

c4e9f938-7141-4afe-9dd2-b2974f464e2b-original.png

Questions:
  1. Has the email been sent because KernelCare wants me to purchase a licence for their plugin? (a false positive)
  2. Should I deactivate KernelCare or is the email warning me of a genuine issue?
  3. Does Plesk offer an alternative free route that I can use to keep my kernel updated?
I googled the error code and found this article:

Unable to update Plesk: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1): iF mysql-server-5.7

But I'm unsure if the resolution provided is relevant to me or not?
I don't want to blindly follow the instructions.

Any help is appreciated.

Thank You.

So I got the exact same email today.

Is this email really a nag, an advert to get me to purchase a KernalCare licence?