1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Cannot find hosting ID

Discussion in 'Plesk 10.x for Windows Issues, Fixes, How-To' started by suite224, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. suite224

    suite224 Guest

    0
     
    Hello,



    I'm pulling my hair out trying to find a solution to this problem. I created a domain earlier and had no problem. Created another one and got an error, yet it created the domain in Plesk, but not seen in IIS. So when I try to delete the domain in Plesk I get this error:

    Unable to delete logrotate config: logrot_mng failed: Execute websrvmng --update-log-rotation "--vhost-name=domain name" failed with error code 1: Cannot find hosting by domain ID 99

    I have tried everything to remove the domain from the Platform and to no avail. I understand that the domain wasn't successfully created ergo it can't be found to delete. I tried to just recreate the domain and it states that the domain already exists. Tried to change to a new subscriber account and then I get a strange DNS Zone error. Please someone help
     
  2. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,547
    Likes Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    It looks like that domain with ID 99 has htype as vrt_hst in domains table but hasn't corresponding record in hosting table. Try to set htype to none for this domain and delete domain. I hope it will help.
     
  3. Jon L

    Jon L Guest

    0
     
    How do you do that?

    Do you need to edit the Plesk database directly to correct the htype for the domain?
     
  4. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,547
    Likes Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Yes, psa database should be checked and corrected. Contact Support Team if you are not familiar with SQL.
     
  5. suite224

    suite224 Guest

    0
     
    Hello Igor,

    You wouldn't happen to know the commands to edit the SQL database?
     
  6. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,547
    Likes Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
  7. Jon L

    Jon L Guest

    0
     
    I've followed those instructions and the database is empty - nothing shows in MS Access or MDB Viewer Plus.

    Any suggestions?
     
  8. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,547
    Likes Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    psa database cannot be empty. Plesk will not work in this case.
     
  9. Jon L

    Jon L Guest

    0
     
    Sorry for being stupid, but how do you tell what database system Plesk is using for it's internal / system database?
     
  10. Jon L

    Jon L Guest

    0
     
    I've found what we're using.

    I still can't find anything within Plesk that points to the database format being used and it's location though.
     
  11. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,547
    Likes Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    I suggest you contact Support Team.
     
  12. suite224

    suite224 Guest

    0
     
    There is obviously a bug in this release. This continues to happen. I shouldn't have to edit SQL tables in order to delete a domain. I've used previous plesk panel products and never had this issue.
     
  13. suite224

    suite224 Guest

    0
     
    Fix

    Ok I have found the fix. You have to use dbclient.exe. The domain ID that the database could not find was 107.

    (This displays all the domains within the database)
    "%plesk_bin%\dbclient.exe" --direct-sql --sql="select * from domains"

    (This deletes the domain)
    "%plesk_bin%\dbclient.exe" --direct-sql --sql="DELETE FROM domains where id=107"

    Then I had to go into MailEnable and delete the Postoffice for the domain. Thanks again Igor.
     
  14. Jon L

    Jon L Guest

    0
     
    We have a support ticket open for this issue. Whilst this deals only with the removal of the problem domains, I will be pursuing the actual cause though at present I haven't been able to reproduce the error. Something is causing this (and error messages are produced when these domains are created) which needs to be resolved, though it appears that a restart of Plesk fixes it temporarily.

    Though as pointed out, it shouldn't be necessary to run SQL commands to remove these domains. Plesk should be able to handle the error and recover from it by deleting the domains in the correct manner, ie by using the SQL commands we're being told to manually enter.
     
  15. Jon L

    Jon L Guest

    0
     
    Parallels support ended up deleting the corrupt domains for us. I asked for the commands necessary to do this so we could do it ourselves in the future and got the following reply;

    The support ticket was then marked as resolved and closed. This is crazy.

    We shouldn't have to go through so many steps to remove a corrupt domain, in fact we shouldn't have to go through any other than deleting the domain through Plesk. Instead we have to spend 15 minutes plus manually deleting the domain or raise a support ticket (for which we get charged) Others are experiencing this problem so something isn't right.

    If the method to delete the domains is known, why isn't Plesk being fixed to do it automatically?
     
  16. RodStr

    RodStr Basic Pleskian

    21
     
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1 to users frustrated by this issue.

    Rod
     
  17. Jon L

    Jon L Guest

    0
     
    Our original support ticket (1066039) was closed. I followed it up with Parallels Sales and a new ticket has now been opened (1087846). If anyone else is experiencing this issue (domain creation fails and leaves them in a corrupt state or unable to delete corrupt domains) please feel free to quote these ticket numbers. Please post details of your tickets and problems here as well.

    If enough of us make enough noise we will hopefully see a resolution to both the issues.
     
  18. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,547
    Likes Received:
    1,241
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    There is following reply from supporter:

     
  19. Laakness

    Laakness Guest

    0
     
    I was able to use this procedure to clean up a domain that didn't remove itself correctly.

    Everything was cleaned up automatically except the psa.domains table had one entry in it. I was able to remove that one record and it seems ok now.
     
  20. Laakness

    Laakness Guest

    0
     
    Yes, though I don't specify psa in the command line. Once connected with the mysql command line client I just type 'use psa;' and hit enter (without the quotes).
     
Loading...