• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Issue 'Clone' actually seems to be functioning more like 'merge'

Ian Bowden

New Pleskian
I am a WordPress developer/designer that has seen much potential promise - and the avoidance of a number of tedious and time-consuming steps - in the cloning function within the WordPress Toolkit. And just to set the situation straight at the outset, I'm an end user and have no control over Plesk and its functionality. That's the responsibility of the folks I pay to host my site! I have joined this forum and posted this issue specifically because the people who host my sites can't directly respond to this with any authority or inside knowledge.

People like me are constantly creating new WP websites, whether it be for playing around and testing or actually creating a site for a client that will eventually be moved to its final destination. In doing this, we like to create an ever-evolving "starter site" that contains the WP theme, plugins, and configuration settings that we then use as a source for creating new copied sites. We copy our starter site to a staging location, do some work on it, then send it off.

Personally, my preferred way of working would be to create the starter site at mysite.com/starter and then clone it to mysite.com/newsite from there. That way, I don't have to wait for any DNS records to propagate to obtain access to the new site to work on it. However, this would seem to be a nonstarter for Plesk's cloning function because it refuses to work this way; it seems unable to consider that mysite.com/newsite is a suitable target.