• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Question Connecting a second domain

pleskatarian

New Pleskian
Hey there, hope everyone is well.

I am brand new to plesk, and am trying to get my head around it, before doing anything. Please be gentle :)

My account shows everything is unlimited, and my user permissions all have green ticks. Plesk is being paid for by the service provider.

I have one domain (D1) attached already (which I believe is created in a workspace?) - this was set up many moons ago by the SP. I would like to connect a second domain (D2) (which I believe goes into the same workspace?) and add Wordpress, so I can build a website. This domain is under my own godaddy account.

I'd like to check my understanding of the user names I see, as I don't want to cause anyone any issues!

My username is "NameAdmin" - and I am the only user in the user list, and I am marked as owner.

At the bottom left of the D1 dashboard, I see - website at httpdocs, an IP address, and system user ="Nameftp"

If I go to connection info on DB1, I see Nameftp in the IP address section, and NameSQL as another username in the database section. I assume these are both SP log ins, and I don't have the passwords.

When I try to set up the second domain, it auto completes the username as "Nameftp" - Can I use my admin username and password here? Or, is this the SP's log in, and only they can action a new domain? I do seem to have the option to change the ftp user's password, but I am assuming I wouldn't be wise to do this?! Seems bizarre I could do this, which is why I thought its best to ask this question!!

Thank you so much, in advance :)