• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Resolved difference between plesk 11.5 only apache VS 12.5 apache + nginx

larryk

Regular Pleskian
I'm moving from old plesk 11.5 to 12.5.
I've never used nginx before.

ANY tips or things I should be aware of in making the move?

example: I learned that nginx doesn't read .htaccess files :)

stuff like that!!!
:)

thanks!

i realize the question is a little odd or VERY open--- but I don't know what I don't know...
so I'm trying to speed up my learning curve

thanks IgorG... that was a GREAT link :)

a generic thought -- that page would be REALLY awesome if it also diagramed or referenced all the settings
on the "apache & nginx settings" page in plesk.

As I don't know what all those setting actually mean or do for me? for the server?

anyway, specific questions:
1) FPM application served (by apache or by nginx) = what does that actually mean? or do for the server?
2) is their a complete list of what nginx will handle: jpg, css, html, images, video, xml. what else?

is it safe to say: PHP, java, java script will go to apache. ALL other files go to nginx.

3) I'm assuming that Plesk created the "apache & nginx settings" page so all custom settings for a domain
can be in one place to manage how apache and nginx function... plesk knows to look here 1st?

thanks

1) FPM application served (by apache or by nginx) = what does that actually mean? or do for the server?
The PHP-FPM is an advanced version of FastCGI which offers significant benefits for highly loaded web applications. To learn more about PHP-FPM, see http://php-fpm.org/about/
2) is their a complete list of what nginx will handle: jpg, css, html, images, video, xml. what else?
It depends on selected webserver mode. Following pictures will describe wach mode in detail: