• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Issue FTP behind VPN - Connect it via Local IP

Mutate2546

New Pleskian
Server operating system version
CentOS 7.9.2009
Plesk version and microupdate number
Hi there,

I've recently inherited some Plesk servers to manage. I'm pretty new with it, but I'm doing my best to understand it all. Bare with me, please :)

We use Plesk Obsidian Version 18.0.43 (CentOS Linux 7) which is hosted in a VM in Azure. To access all administrative interfaces & FTP we currently have our office network whitelisted to access FTP ports, Plesk-GUI, etc.

Willing to make access more secure and give flexibility to employees, our goal is to make administrative tasks available behind a VPN. I've managed to put the Administrative interface accessible thru it, but I'm having a hard time setting up FTP access.

Whenever I'm routing traffic thru my VPN, it communicates with the Plesk server via its private IP address, not the public one. Yet, according to what I've understood, whenever a Private & Public IP address is matched, all replies from my Plesk server (including FTP) return the public IP address causing an address mismatch, I believe.

Whenever I connect to the FTP via FileZilla from my office network, it works like a charm. Yet, whenever I route traffic via VPN, I receive an alert of SSL/TLS certificate saying that the "Hostname does not match certificate" (not sure if this can cause any issue) and it seems that FTP enters in passive mode.

oRn3MlSDJ4.png

"xx,xx,xxx,xxx" = VPN private IP address
"yy,yy,yyy,yyy" = Public IP address

Code:
Status:    Connection established, waiting for welcome message...
Command:    PWD
Response:    257 "/" is the current directory
Command:    TYPE I
Response:    200 Type set to I
Command:    PASV