• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion
  • Inviting everyone to the UX test of a new security feature in the WP Toolkit
    For WordPress site owners, threats posed by hackers are ever-present. Because of this, we are developing a new security feature for the WP Toolkit. If the topic of WordPress website security is relevant to you, we would be grateful if you could share your experience and help us test the usability of this feature. We invite you to join us for a 1-hour online session via Google Meet. Select a convenient meeting time with our friendly UX staff here.

Resolved LimitRequestLine in Additional directives for HTTP not working

Edward A B

New Pleskian
Hi everyone,

I apologise in advance that I'm a newbie to plesk. I'm previewing a website on my new Plesk Server and I realised that the site displays only images with short files names but gives a 404 Error (from Server Logs) and does not display any of my images with prety long file names. I got some advice to increase the LimiteRequestLine value in Additional HTTP/HTTPS Directives for Apache, which I have done (LimitRequestLine 100000). Yet the server ignores this directive and does not display my images with long file names.

I got another advise to edit the Apache2.conf file but I've checked all the /etc/ directory and it's not there.

Any ideas will help as I'm completely new to Plesk.

Many thanks in advance.

In a default setup, static files like images are not served by Apache, but by nginx. Apache is never asked to deliver the file.

However, I have never heard before that a long image file name causes a 404 not found error. I'd rather guess that the file name itself is problematic, e.g. includes spaces or special characters.