• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Making Remote Back-ups

S

smkied

Hello!

I am new to Plesk (in fact, I haven't yet made an installation!).

I am wondering if it's possbile (and if yes, then how) to schedule full backups of my entire server on to another server via. FTP.

My server will be running Plesk 8 (since I guess I can't buy Plesk 7.5.4 anymore?).

Also, I'd like to tack on another question since I am quite novice in this whole server world overall. My managed server will be run by Rackspace. The configurations that I have chosen are:

Athlon 64 3200+
1GB DDR
2 x 73GB SCSI Raid 1 (Mirror)
500GB Monthly Bandwidth (Outgoing)

Will a server of these specs be able to handle roughly 700,000 hits per day? How would you guys rate the overall quality of hosting from Rackspace? I am buying my license seperately and directly from Plesk so that I don't have to pay Rackspace $105/month for it.

All and any responses are much appreciated. Thanks!

From what I've been hearing the latest version of Plesk v8 remote FTP backup was disabled, for what reason i do not know, and the only way you can pretty much do your own backups is setting up your second scsi drive to mirror your other drive. Other than that u can make FULL backups of your system using a utility such as 'tar' and then writing a script that uploads it to a remote server.

Some people have suggested using 'rsnapshot' to create incremental backups of your system.

Good luck with your backups. As far as the server performance on 700k+hits/day. I have no clue..

Rsnapshot: http://www.rsnapshot.org

also you can still get 7.5.4 once you purchase it is a avalable option all versions are the same price..