• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

name server setup

J

jpwdesigns

Hi im having a bad time trying to set up name servers on my box. Plesk 8.1.0

firewall is not an issue and ive set up a ns3.jpwns.com and ns4.jpwns.com with godaddy pointing to 2 ip addresses on this box. then in the server > DNS panel i created the a records for ns3.jpwns.com and ns4.jpwns.com

I can ping ns3. and ns4. and it resolves to the right ip address but if i try to query the dns server it times out. Named is started, and firewall not blocking 53. why would it time out? testing on a domain i set up phuketforsale.info on this box.

Thanks for any help. im new at setting up name servers obviously.

J

DNS settings

Yeah, here's everything

Server > DNS:

<domain>. NS ns3.jpwns.com.
<domain>. NS ns4.jpwns.com.
<domain>. A <ip>
<domain>. MX (10) mail.<domain>.
<ip> / 24 PTR <domain>.
ftp.<domain>. CNAME <domain>.
mail.<domain>. A <ip>
webmail.<domain>. A <ip>
www.<domain>. CNAME <domain>.

Domains > Phuketforsale.info > DNS

74.208.8.65 / 24 PTR phuketforsale.info.
ftp.phuketforsale.info. CNAME phuketforsale.info.
mail.phuketforsale.info. A 74.208.8.65
phuketforsale.info. NS ns3.jpwns.com.
phuketforsale.info. NS ns4.jpwns.com.
phuketforsale.info. A 74.208.8.65
phuketforsale.info. MX (10) mail.phuketforsale.info.
webmail.phuketforsale.info. A 74.208.8.65
www.phuketforsale.info. CNAME phuketforsale.info.

(dont know if it matters but...) Domains > jpwns.com > DNS:

74.208.8.65 / 24 PTR jpwns.com.
ftp.jpwns.com. CNAME jpwns.com.
jpwns.com. NS ns3.jpwns.com.
jpwns.com. NS ns4.jpwns.com.
jpwns.com. A 74.208.8.65
jpwns.com. MX (10) mail.jpwns.com.
mail.jpwns.com. A 74.208.8.65
ns1.jpwns.com. A 217.160.248.61
ns2.jpwns.com. A 217.160.247.141
ns3.jpwns.com. A 74.208.8.65
ns4.jpwns.com. A 74.208.64.20