1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

The specified directory contains a service directory.

Discussion in 'Plesk 10.x for Linux Issues, Fixes, How-To' started by MassimoP, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. MassimoP

    MassimoP Basic Pleskian

    17
    35%
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    The "Add New Subdomain" does not allow me to add a subdomain in the folder subdomains.

    Each time I try to add a subdomain (e.g. Subdomain name: ts, Document root: subdomains/ts/httodocs) I receive the error: "The specified directory contains a service directory."

    I don't have problems if I define a subdomain document root outside the subdomains folder.

    Any idea?
     
  2. Mathieud

    Mathieud Guest

    0
     
    Any news about this?

    I'm trying to add a domain to a subdomain web root and i got this error too: The specified directory contains a service directory


    Any work around ?

    I patched the problem by adding vhost.conf to my subdomain and serveralias value.

    thanks
     
  3. MassimoP

    MassimoP Basic Pleskian

    17
    35%
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing... it seems Parallels has lot to do with the new Plesk.

    Waiting for an update, here is a workaround:

    To create a subdomain:

    /usr/local/psa/bin/subdomain --create [SUBDOMAIN] -domain [DOMAIN] -www-root /subdomains/[SUBDOMAIN]/httpdocs

    after the subdomain creation you can edit its parameters with plesk. Alternatively execute /usr/local/psa/bin/subdomain --help to have help on how to configure the subdomain (php support, asp support, etc...).

    To delete the subdomain:

    /usr/local/psa/bin/subdomain --remove -subdomains [SUBDOMAIN] -domain [DOMAIN]

    this command deletes the subdomain and all related folders.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2010
  4. AlvaroG

    AlvaroG New Pleskian

    16
    85%
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks!

    Thanks MassimoP! Adding the subdomain in the command line works fine :)
     
  5. MassimoP

    MassimoP Basic Pleskian

    17
    35%
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Main caracteristics of the server in which I have this problem are
    CPU AuthenticAMD, Quad-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 2372 HE
    Version Parallels Plesk Panel v10.0.1_build109101029.19 os_SuSE 11.1
    OS Linux 2.6.27.54-0.1-pae
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2010
  6. IFATCA

    IFATCA Guest

    0
     
    How do I do this

    Nothing... it seems Parallels has lot to do with the new Plesk.

    I'm not used to command line matters, can you explain in simple terms how I could do this? I'm having the same problem creating a new subdomain since upgrading Plesk.

    Thanks
     
  7. MassimoP

    MassimoP Basic Pleskian

    17
    35%
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I'll try to explain in short...

    First of all, you need an SSH client, I'm supposing you are using Windows. I prefer to use putty, but it is just a preference. Google for "putty download page" and download putty.exe.

    Follow the instruction of the chosen SSH client to open a connection to your server. You need to enter your server IP address or domain name, the root username (usually root) and the root password.

    Once connected you will see a dos-like console in which you can exec the commands above.

    Please be sure to understand what you are doing, since from a root console you can damage your system. I advise you to use a "Linux for dummies" to understand the Linux basic operations.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2010
  8. IFATCA

    IFATCA Guest

    0
     
    Thanks MassimoP

    I've downloaded putty and tried running the script but get error messages whichever option I try? Any suggestions what I'm doing wrong - I'm trying to cretae a subdomain called fab on our site www.ifatca.org. Thanks.

    [root@server ~]#
    [root@server ~]# /usr/local/psa/bin/subdomain --create [fab] -domain [ifatca] -www-root/subdomains/[fab]/httpdocs
    Can't recognize option '-www-root/subdomains/[fab]/httpdocs'

    [root@server ~]# /usr/local/psa/bin/subdomain --create fab -domain ifatca -www-root/subdomains/fab/httpdocs
    Can't recognize option '-www-root/subdomains/fab/httpdocs'

    [root@server ~]# /usr/local/psa/bin/subdomain --create fab -domain ifatca.org -www-ifatca.org/subdomains/fab/httpdocs
    Can't recognize option '-www-ifatca.org/subdomains/fab/httpdocs'
     
  9. MassimoP

    MassimoP Basic Pleskian

    17
    35%
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have to use the command:

    /usr/local/psa/bin/subdomain --create fab -domain ifatca.org -www-root /subdomains/fab/httpdocs

    be sure that domain ifatca.org already exists.

    There are spaces after each block:
    /usr/local/psa/bin/subdomain[SPACE]--create[SPACE]fab[SPACE]-domain[SPACE]ifatca.org[SPACE]-www-root[SPACE]/subdomains/fab/httpdocs

    exec:
    /usr/local/psa/bin/subdomain --help

    to understand the meaning of the options.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2010
  10. IFATCA

    IFATCA Guest

    0
     
    MassimoP many many thanks, that's achieved it!

    Best wishes,

    Rob
     
  11. oerlemans

    oerlemans New Pleskian

    22
    73%
    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any news about this issue from Parallels self??
     
  12. MassimoP

    MassimoP Basic Pleskian

    17
    35%
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    nothing, try to contact directly the forum moderator...
     
  13. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,572
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Due to business logic change, subdomains are not following the same path as it was before. www-root cannot be set or changed to VHOSTS_D /<webspace_name>/subdomains/*; but www-root of old subdomains (that has been created in previous versions of the Panel) points to that directory (because of backward compatibility). If you change www-root of such subdomain, you will unable to set www-root value back to /subdomains/*
     
  14. MassimoP

    MassimoP Basic Pleskian

    17
    35%
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. lhwparis

    lhwparis Guest

    0
     
    again: thats NOT a problem! thats a feature! because the first one under /var/www/vhosts/domain.tld is the subdomain folder from the new plesk10 subdomain structure. this folder can be used by more then one subdomain in plesk10. so if it will be deleted with one subdomain and another subdomain use this folder too this second subdomain will be broken after you delete the first one!
    so this is absolute not a bug!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2010
  16. IgorG

    IgorG Forums Analyst Staff Member

    49
    24%
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24,572
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Right!
    Domains and subdomains in Plesk 10 is only entry points from web to webspace (place on your disk). You can have several domain/subomains which have the same entry point or in other words place on disk. When you delete domain/subdomain - you delete only entry point from web (apache configuration) but not content because this content can be used by other domains/subdomains via their entry points.
     
  17. oerlemans

    oerlemans New Pleskian

    22
    73%
    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you change only the configuration by deleting a subdomain the diskquota that is configurated by that domain does not decrease.

    How can the content be deleted?
     
  18. lhwparis

    lhwparis Guest

    0
     
    delete the folder with your main ftp-account or delete it with plesk file-manager like any other folder on your webspace?

    as Igor said subdomains in Plesk10 are only "entry points" and point to a folder in your ftp-directory nothing more.

    i think the way plesk10 handles subdomains is a big improvement :)
     
  19. Gregm0

    Gregm0 Guest

    0
     
    I'm most likely doing something wrong here but I as others in this post thought there was a problem with the way subdomains were being handled. However I read now this is the intention of plesk.

    This is fine if it all works but when I create a subdomain which now is created in:

    /var/www/vhosts/domainname.com/site1

    rather than previous versions of plesk:

    /var/www/vhosts/domainname.com/subdomains/site1/httpdocs/

    When I visit my subdomain address I get the default plesk page not the page that's in /var/www/vhosts/domainname.com/site1?

    i.e. the subdomain address isn't being picked up properly and the plesk container is redirecting to /var/www/vhosts/default/htdocs?

    Anyone able to help? I've tried restarting the apache server but no joy.

    Greg
     
  20. PaulDs

    PaulDs Guest

    0
     
    im with greg on this, major major bug

    although if I create a subdomain :

    test and I leave the docroot default to site1

    /var/www/vhosts/domain.com/test gets created and it works fine, you can add a file in /var/www/vhosts/domain.com/test/test.txt and access it from a browser if you try test.domain.com/test.txt

    that seems to work fine but the minute you change the docroot name from site1 to anything else it doesnt work

    it works, in a sense, if you go to the subdomain in a browser the default page is shown but you cant access a file that you add in the subdomain

    you can try and make a chance to the index.html page but that doesnt help either.
     
Loading...