• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

This is a BIG "how do i?"

C

chiefmasterjedi

Hi all,
I know how annoying this can be to some but i'm a complete noob and need alot of answers or just useful links to the information i seek.
I have a VPS with godaddy.com and plesk 7.5.3. . The reason i went for the VPS was i wanted alot of webspace and bandwidth for a site i'm launching and the VPS was alot cheaper and more versatile than alot of high bandwidth single hosting plans.
Setting up the Admin, clients and Domains was quite easy. The DNS stuff was a first for me but after a few hours of google searches and reading, i got to grips with it, but all the other stuff like RPM's, SSH, Root access, scripting, cron jobs etc. has completely lost me and google searches just don't seem to help.

What would be great, if someone could explain (in plain English) how to back-up my VPS, domains and mail with out using the plesk back up and i don't mean by just throwing a few lines of scripting at me. I mean the whole 9 yards, what programs i need? script for back up all, back-up all domains, back up single domain, how to set a cron job to do this for me..........once a week for the VPS and at midnight for all the domains, plus i have a back up FTP which is the same size as my VPS, how do i back it up to this and then restore it or just general restore from a local directory.

And now for the big one............what are RPMs? i take it they are ready made install/upgrade scripts? what do i need to do to upgrade/install using these?