• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Question Best option for Magento 2?

Taher

New Pleskian
Hi all,

I am new to all this, There is some great info on these forums but i cant seem to find what i'm looking for.

I'v just got a Hosted VPS L package with 1&1 few weeks ago with intentions to making my own Magento store. As i am typing this i am also reinstalling my server image for the 50th time with Ubuntu 16.04 64bit with plesk onyx pre installed.

Iv tried centOS 7 with plesk onyx too but didnt get far with that. I even tried Bitnami Magento install from 1&1 cloud panel/ applications, liked the way it was a quick install but couldn't get my domain setup as easily as i did in Plesk panel, and what if i wanted another site? I'v also did a clean install of Ubuntu 16.4 and centos7, updated php, mysql, changed memory limit and managed to get Magento working by following a guide until i hit some hiccups and gave up after pulling my hair and smoking a pack.

So i am looking for a simple guide with which i can build a Magento store and have the plesk panel to manage my vps.

I would appreciate it if you can post some links to put me in right direction. I am looking for guides that have the ssh commands as i am comfy my way around that. or even youtube link.

I'v read that its best to install centos 7 without plesk, then update mysql/maraidb and then install plesk. will that still give me control and will i still be able to use the licence from my host for plesk?

thanks

- Install CentOS 7
- Update CentOS to 7.4
- Install MariaDB 10.1 (nothing earlier or later than 10.1 or you'll have issues)
- Install Plesk
- Install Magento by uploading the compress Magento .tar file and extracting on the server using Plesk file manager or use the Plesk Application section for instant install