• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Issue Can't open Port 25. Please help

mhogue

New Pleskian
Server operating system version
CentOS Linux release 7.9.2009 (Core)
Plesk version and microupdate number
Web Host Edition Version 18.0.59 Update #2
Hey Friends,

I'm an intermediate CentOs user, but feel like a total beginner with Plesk. I've tried numerous wiki's and a few discussions in this forum, wasted a full day on this issue, and really hope that someone can help out.

My goal is to get php to send an email to an email address. I've tried many things, so will try to summarize the most important details:
  1. In the terminal as root, I opened port 25 using iptables and Firewalld (but got the error that it's not in use)
  2. In Plesk, went to Websites and Domains, clicked on the Mail tab, then Mail Settings. Activated the Enabled radio, and then accepted most of the details (not planning to read email on this server, so disabled a couple obvious choiced) and Applied Changed.
  3. Tools & Settings -> Mail Server Settings
    1. Checked the box for Enable mail management functions in Plesk
    2. Checked the box for Enable SMTP service on port 587 on all IP addresses
    3. Checked Turn on limitations on outgoing email messages
    4. Made all default limits to unlimited
    5. Kept checked: Allow users and scripts to use Sendmail
    6. Followed instructions here: https://support.plesk.com/hc/en-us/...ction-timed-out-and-25-Network-is-unreachable
    7. Accepted all other defaults
  4. Tools & Settings -> PHP Settings (8.1.27 FastCGI application is active) -> Plesk Installer. From there I:
    1. Temporarily disabled Selinux and Fail2Ban
    2. Kept Postfix and Dovecot installed and active
    3. Installed the Plesk Firewall