1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Email for domain pointers

Discussion in 'Plesk for Linux - 8.x and Older' started by avantis, Jul 6, 2005.

1. avantis

avantis Guest

I was searching the forums, but couldn't find the answer (and for some reason I think I saw it long ago).

Say, I want to park/point dom.net to dom.com. Mr Joe has already emailbox joe@dom.com, but he want's to receive emails addressed to joe@dom.net.

Can I edit/add some qmail file and make this easily? I'd know how to do this in Sendmail, but I'm not good with Qmail.

2. jamesyeeoc

jamesyeeoc Guest

You could edit your /var/qmail/control/virtualdomains file

You will find entries such as:

domaina.com:1
    domainb.org:2
    domainc.com:3
    dom.com:4
    dom.net:5

Change the number for the parked .net domain to the same number as the live .com domain.

Restart Qmail

3. avantis

avantis Guest

That's what I initially thought, but didn't even try it thinking it's too easy. :)

4. avantis

avantis Guest

Interesting thing happens... :)

In "/var/qmail/control/virtualdomains" (domain.com:16 was already there, set by Plesk) I added two new domains, e.g.
    domain.net:16
    domain:eek:rg:16

It worked only when I added these 2 domains to "/var/qmail/control/rcpthosts", as well.

So, I send email to john@domain.net - it worked. Or, to alias, jonn@domain.org - ot worked again.

But now, none of the MailGroups is working! Nor for domain.com, nor for any other domain hosted on the server!

Now, i brought everything to the previous stage (removed domain.net & .org), but how do I fix MailGroups ? :)

5. avantis

avantis Guest

Redirects are also not working :(