• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

firewall howto

M

mpl232

I'm new to plesk and not really liking the firewall module.
I need to be able to block entire ranges 212.0.0.0/8 etc...
is this possible.

I'm new to plesk and not really liking the firewall module.
I need to be able to block entire ranges 212.0.0.0/8 etc...
is this possible.

<caveat>
Well, everyone has specific likes and dislikes so - not to criticize your preferences in any way but...
</caveat>

You didn't say what you disliked about the Plesk firewall. It's actually a flexible and quite powerful tool. It can do the job you need done - blocking a whole range - in just a few clicks. To block an entire range, just enter the range itself and the /8 and you're done.

I'm assuming that you want to block administrative access to the box, rather than blocking access to the webserver. Perhaps you might wish to consider allowing only certain IP's to the administrative interface, rather than going the other way. It's actually simpler that way if you think about it for a moment.

As a (typical) example: "I want access to the admin interface from my office, home, and girlfriend's apartment. I also want to be able to ssh in from those locations. No one else should have these access rights"

OK, let's set up just that scenario:
1. Go to Server | Modules | Firewall | Edit firewall configuration
2. Click on "Plesk Administrative Interface"
3. Select "Allow from selected sources, deny from others"
4. Input the individual IP's with a /32 at the end, Click OK/Apply etc.

It's really that simple, and a lot better than blocking all that you don't want. The rule you just created is literally; "Allow from the IP's I put in there and deny from all others" which is a more elegant approach.