• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

hda1 full... Because of updater???

V

VerityNS

I'm a complete NOOB at Linux and Plesk! I could really use some advise from people that have been doing this for a while! I've been a MS and IIS guy for a very long time, and I'm going through a real learning curve right now with Linux and Plesk.

Currently I have a Linux Red Hat 9 server with Plesk 7.5.0 Reloaded on it. I've been trying to two days now to update to 7.5.1 and it keeps failing through the updater. I then went to YUM to do the updates and it grabbed some of the updates ( non-Plesk related ) but not all the updates. I get a log every day e-mailed to me the status of my server along with the hard drive use and avialability. This is what my log shows me ( part of the log ):

------------------ Disk Space --------------------

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/hda1 510M 507M 0 100% /
/dev/hda5 4.9G 1.1G 3.9G 22% /usr
/dev/hda6 4.9G 632M 4.3G 13% /var
/dev/hda7 100G 534M 100G 1% /home
none 501M 460K 501M 1% /tmp

Previous to me doing my updates through the updater and through YUM, my hda1 drive was at 493 megs used. After the updater and yum, 507megs used.

My theory ( and its very possible that its the worst theory in the world ) is that the updater and YUM is downloading the packages to be installed, installing them, but leaving the orginial update packages on the drive after they have been installed successfully. Thus, possibily, leaving excess files on that partition that are not needed!

Is my theory close? Could this be the reason why I'm not getting all my updates and why they are failing? If so, what can I get rid of without breaking everything?