• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

How fully to backup a server (with plesk installed on it)

L

ludot

How to fully backup a server (with plesk installed on it)

Hi all,

As a newbie, I would need some basic information about how to backup my plesk server! I know how to back up with plesk but we can just backup the plesk configuration, domains, clients, reseller...

So if I understand well, Plesk cannot back the whole server, so I was wondering what would be the best solution to backup my server with some external programs!

I found out this solution Backup-manager : http://www.backup-manager.org/

What do you think about it??? Would you advice some particular programs compatible with plesk ???

Thanks for advice ;)

Ludo

Last edited by a moderator:
With a command line using tar.gz

It sounds like I can first start to backup my server with a command line using tar.gz! I found this script here : http://tldp.org/LDP/lame/LAME/linux-admin-made-easy/server-backup.html

tar -zcvpf /archive/full-backup-`date '+%d-%B-%Y'`.tar.gz \
--directory / --exclude=mnt --exclude=proc --exclude=var/spool/squid .
Note : the dot at the end of the line is required !!!!!!!!

Then I can tell where to store the backup and the name of my archive : /archive/full-backup-`date '+%d-%B-%Y'`.tar.gz

I want all the directories to be backed-up with the variable "\" after the name of the file (but you could specify a path to a particular folder and then excluded some directories inside this folder)
And the directories I want to exclude : --directory / --exclude=mnt --exclude=proc --exclude=var/spool/squid --exclude=root/archives .

I also decided to exclude the backups to be backed-up twice : --exclude=root/archives