• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

How to locate /var file and delete Log file?

andyas

New Pleskian
Suddenly because I had a 500 error I found out that I am out of disk usage because of the logs locate on /var and /usr files from the root; my problem is I dont know how to edit or delete the content of this files (not the file, just the content, maybe edit)

I made some space deleting old unnecessary files but I have over 38 gb stored in those files...
Would appreciate any help, but please consider I am a newbie, so step by step help will be useful...Txs

Log files in /var/log/ should not grow too big. There is a utility that runs every day called logrotate that basically looks after things in this respect. It prevents them getting out of hand. Or it should. And by default it normally does. There isn't anything you would normally need to do to make it work. Use google to learn more about logrotate.

The maillog, which is in /usr/local/psa/var/maillog should also be automatically prevented from getting too big. There's plesk housekeeping file that normally runs every day that takes care of this.

So I think there's something generally wrong on your system. It is possible that logrotate is not being executed for some reason. This needs to be investigated.

To edit files I use a utility called nano. It is often instaled by default. There are other editors, such as vi but these are confusing to use.

To use nano to edit a file you use:
nano /var/log/directory/whatever/file-you-want-to-edit
To exit the program you press CTRL-X and it will ask you if you want to save your changes.

To delete a file use the rm command.

e.g.: rm /var/log/directory/something/filename-you-want-to-delete

You need to be logged in as root for all this as the files usually won't be accessible to a normal user.