• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

HTTP Error 503. The service is unavailable

C

C.yW

Hi all,
I'm a freelancer, currently working for a small project involving a migration of a static HTML site to a CMS called Concrete5 for my client. My client is subscribed to a webhosting running in windows with Plesk 8.6.

To be frank, i have never worked with Plesk before as my previous clients are mostly Cpanel or DirectAdmin users.

While developing my client's new CMS website, i run into some problem when i start installing Concrete5. It (the CMS site) work ok after install but NOT perfect as some folders, files such as .htaccess needs chmodding for the CMS to work PERFECTLY. i knew that chmodding cannot be performed in FTP for windows+plesk, so i logged in my client's Plesk in Web Directories > Permissions to perform some tweaks.

An info appears on top which says 'Information: 'You are not allowed to change permissions for this folder.'

Fine, so i returned to Web Directories where the lists of folders and files are listed and made attempts to change their permissions with IUSR etc one by one. I saved and refreshed the site, but it seems like the permission change does not/fail to take into effect as probably a global setting higher up seems to overrides my settings. In short, I assumed that SEF is impossible to achieve now so i gave up trying.