• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Question mail server vs multiple domains

itexpertnow

New Pleskian
Server operating system version
Linux
Plesk version and microupdate number
Hi,

I am new to plesk, I have a big server with several domains. I am wondering how to setup the mail server, should I create a separate mail server for each domain? or should I use the main domain email server for all the other domains?

if I use the main domain email server, how to manage postfix config? it will be general for all domain right?

also, I noticed the autodiscover is not always working, some domains is working perfectly, and others are not working... any advice on that?

Thank you in advance,
Alex

Mail server: There is only one mail server per machine or instance. It is not possible to run separate mail servers for each domain. The mail server is normally addressed by the hostname, not the domain name. The mail server's name is mostly irrelevant, it is just a name. The Postfix configuration applies to all domains hosted on the same server.

Autodiscover: Have you checked in the mail settings of the domain that autodiscover is turned on?

How to do this properly?

I am thinking I should change the server hostname to mail.maindomain.com or maindomain.com what do you think?
hostnamectl set-hostname mail.maindomain.com or maindomain.com ?

also the same question for PTR, which domain name should I use for the PTR?

Then the postfix config:

myhostname = mail.maindomain.com

mydestination = maindomain.com domain1.com domain2.com

[...] I am thinking I should change the server hostname to mail.maindomain.com or maindomain.com what do you think?
Use a sub domain. So mail.maindomain.com would be good.

hostnamectl set-hostname mail.maindomain.com or maindomain.com ?