• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

maillog question

A

areiseek

I have entries like the following in my maillog:

Nov 21 05:58:06 XXXX pop3d: 1082684293.552948 LOGOUT, user=NAME, ip=[XX.XX.XX.XX], top=0, retr=12453, time=16, rcvd=41, sent=13423, maildir=/var/qmail/mailnames/DOMAIN.COM/NAME/Maildir

I'm a complete newbie and I'm trying to get up to speed on things like this. Been googling all morning on the subject, but if this is what I think it is, I need to do something now. We host a small number of web sites that we design and maintain... The account above has been a customer for years and I know they're not up to anything but I need to know whats going on here. First of all, is the log entry really saying they sent 13423 messages?

Second, is there a way to view the maillog file via the Plesk (7.5.2) interface? I'm using SSH but I'm struggling with it. (I will learn to use it properly, but in the meantime, I'd like an easy way to keep track of this problem)

And finally, we just started hosting these sites on our own box where before we leased space from another company... since problems like this are mine now, any suggestions where to start to learn a little more on the subject... (I know... google is our friend)

Thanks
RC

Those figures refer to bytes, not to the number of messages :)

And there is no way to see in the Plesk panel these log messages.

Thank you, that's a relief.

I do have another question... when I look at the current server traffic, this same customer has about 200-250 MB of SMTP and POP traffic. That seems like too much but I have so few accounts to compare it to. It's 20-30 times what my own domain does.