• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Resolved Migrating to a test environment?

HelplessHobo

New Pleskian
Hi!

I unexpectedly inherited my company's WordPress site and I have to admit I'm a little overwhelmed. I am glad that we're using Plesk, because I have no real previous experience with WordPress or even just Ubuntu and it really seems to make a lot of things a lot easier, but I still need some help:

Could you guys tell me the necessary steps to "migrate" a hosted Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server (running Plesk 12.5.3) to a testing Environment (currently an Azure VM running 14.04 and Plesk Onyx,, going to upgrade the OS as soon as the migration is complete though).

I am worried about ****ing things up because, well, it's my company's website... I tried making a backup on our productive server and restoring it on the test server (which kind of worked, even though the full backup was 17GB) but afterwards nothing seemed to work anymore (502 Errors, among others).

I was going to try using the Plesk Migration Manager next but I was wondering if there's anything I need to pay attention to? Also I don't want to use the original server's connection info obviously, I only want databases and wordpress files, but obviously not the IP/DNS configuration. And most importantly I don't want to mess up anything with the original server. Is Migration Manager the right way to go? What do I have to watch out for? Any help is much appreciated.

I think that Synchronization feature of Plesk WordPress Toolkit would be more suitable for your only one production site. Please read about this feature carefully WordPress Toolkit

@IgorG Thanks, going to take a look at it,