nameserver and webmail probs

J

jasonblanc

Hi,
I'm new at this and I'm really stuck on something, any help would be glorious.

I've got a VPS with webfusion, and though I can host domains quite happily, the mailboxes and webmail side of things doesn't work at all. Using OutXpress (incoming mail server set to mail.client'sdomain.co.uk) I just get 'cannot find server 0x800CCC0F' or 'server unexpectedly terminated connection 0x800CCC0D'.

After much swearing at pc and cat I think it might be a nameserver issue. I use the default nameservers (ns.123-reg.co.uk / ns2.123-reg.co.uk) for all hosted domains as this is the company I use for registering doms.

Should I register my own DNS, and if so what do I call it and where can I register it? (my own site is www.blanckanvas.co.uk, so is it ns.blanckanvas.co.uk etc?) . If so after that then what?

The reason I think this is there's another thread:

http://forum.swsoft.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=22170

that looks like the same problem, but lord help my I'm just not as bright as that chap

Thanks in advance

J

Got the mail boxes sorted.

Didn't have to do anything with the nameservers after all, I changed the DNS settings in 123-REG to include 'A' and 'MX' records for mail.domainName.co.uk.

After a couple of hours the mail boxes worked and OutXp found the incoming mail server no probs.

Got another mail problem though now :rolleyes:

Why doesn't php mail() function work for sending email forms. It sometimes works (though rarely), but the script never throws an error (ie the script thinks it's working fine), but no mail arrives.

I'm running a windows VPS, and a friend said something about php not being designed for windows platforms so mail() not working properly might be a side-effect of that. I can't accept that. I'm sure it's in the server settings somewhere but I don't have enough experience to know where to prod.

Can anyone help??

ok... the mailboxes aren't working anymore/again.