• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Need Urgent Help - Spammer email problem

S

Sevenhelmets

I posted this question in reply to another similar posting elsewhere on the site, but I think it was under the incorrect catagory and listing, so I thought I'd better create a new thread and start again.

First of all I should mention that I am a relative amature when it comes to running a server. I have a VDS with Godaddy and have the Plesk platform and Qmail as part of the package. Until this problem popped up, I'd never used SSH before (Putty), and just had to learn the basics of it yesterday, by trial and error.

My server hosts a few sites that I have built and maintain by myself (using Plesk and FTP to do everything). Everything is self-taught, and therefore pretty easy to see how a spammer can break any of my site's relatively poor defenses.

Yesterday, a spammer managed to start using my server as a "relay" to spam another site. I have checked Plesk settings, and followed all the basic steps (Open Relay was never on etc), and it seems fine. I read the forum posting here:
http://forum.parallels.com/showthread.php?t=82043&highlight=qmail+spam+relay+server
Which is VERY close to what I'm experiencing.

In any case, by following the solution here:
http://kb.odin.com/en/766

I found that the spammer was most likely using a PHP script, as the headers in the emails looked like this:

Received: (qmail 20387 invoked by uid 48); 6 Jul 2009 22:45:08 -0700
Date: 6 Jul 2009 22:45:08 -0700
Message-ID: <20090707054508.20385.qmail@ip-xxx-xxx-xxx-xxx.ip.secureserver.net>
To: [email protected], [email protected], [email protected],
[email protected], [email protected], [email protected],
[email protected], [email protected]
Subject: ???? ?????? ? ??????? ?????????? c3kc?? superrr_vkbs