• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Newbie, urgent help is needed!

Vulteer

New Pleskian
Hey guys I have used plesk for 2 weeks now and I'm hosting a website which is getting alot of traffic. My server is perfect, but now I feel like the website is running slow at peak times. The server loads are nothing(it is 0.08), but the website is slow. So I'm wondering how I can tune my apache. I can't httpd.conf or anything related to change prefork settings/apache tuning. My etc folder is even empty, I don't understand why these don't exist. Please guys help me as I'm new at plesk system, I'm helpless as of right now :(

Note: I also can't access conf, it says:
Error: Unable to change directory to /conf: filemng: opendir failed: Permission denied

System error 13: Permission denied

Last edited:
This is a User to User forum, where fellow Plesk users will respond if they have a useful comment to make on a post. So don't expect instant answers, or any answer at all. But usually people do respond as long as the post is sensible and polite, and they have something useful to add.

Firstly, the File Manager can only access files that are owned by the hosting account user (typically the username you selected when creating the hosting for domain), and usually the files in the /var/www/vhost/domain.tld/conf directory are owned by root. In any case, other than vhost.conf, you should not directly edit stuff in there.

The main apache configuration is in /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf (for RedHat/Centos type OSes and elsewhere for others).