1. Please take a little time for this simple survey! Thank you for participating!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dear Pleskians, please read this carefully! New attachments and other rules Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dear Pleskians, I really hope that you will share your opinion in this Special topic for chatter about Plesk in the Clouds. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice

Often blank page with SiteBuilder

Discussion in 'Sitebuilder 4.2 for Linux' started by Dupont, Jun 24, 2008.

  1. Dupont

    Dupont Guest

    0
     
    Plesk Sitebuilder 4.2.0 for Linux/Unix

    As far as I'm concerned, publication works but I sometimes get a blank page when visiting the published site. Apache error logs say :

    [Fri Jun 20 15:19:19 2008] [notice] child pid 68208 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Jun 20 15:19:24 2008] [notice] child pid 68210 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Jun 20 15:19:28 2008] [notice] child pid 68211 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Jun 20 15:19:31 2008] [notice] child pid 68212 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Jun 20 15:19:34 2008] [notice] child pid 68213 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Jun 20 15:19:34 2008] [notice] child pid 68206 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
    [Fri Jun 20 15:26:30 2008] [notice] child pid 68207 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)

    ...even when the page is not blank. Tested with PHP 5.2.6 and PHP 5.2.4.

    check.php :

    ioncube=ok os= phpVersion=5.2.4 mbstring=ok zlib=ok session=ok dom=ok domxml_xslt=ok sqlite=2.8.17 sqliteEncoding=UTF-8 gd_png=ok gd_gif=ok gd_jpg=ok gd_wbmp=ok gd=2.0.34 safe_mode=ok mail=ok curl=ok serverApi=Apache Handler folder_permissions_data=fail

    Any ideas ?
     
  2. swopedesign

    swopedesign Regular Pleskian

    25
    57%
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any response?

    I am getting problems "blank pages" in SB modules as well. Safari reports the server suddenly dropped the connection. In other browsers I just get a blank page. Does not happen all the time, but it happens often (about half the time or 3/4 the time). More often than my customers like.
     
  3. abezborodova

    abezborodova Guest

    0
     
    It may be that the error above that is show on the published site is not related to Sitebuilder at all but apache on the publishing server.

    The error may be caused by lacking of file descriptors, it is 1024 of them are compiled by default and apache may exceed the limit and cause Segmentation fault error. Check number of used file descriptors by parent apache process:

    ~# ps axf | grep httpd | grep -v grep
    30886 ? Ss 0:01 /usr/sbin/httpd
    31051 ? S 0:00 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    680 ? S 0:01 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    748 ? S 0:00 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    785 ? S 0:00 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    ~# ls /proc/30886/fd/ | wc -l
    32
    ~#

    If number of used file descriptors is about or more then 1024, you should recompile apache with increased number. Please refer to this Kb article for details about recompilation: http://kb.odin.com/en/260, it is related to apache on Plesk Control Panel server, but I hope it may help you.

    By the way is there Plesk Control Panel running on the publishing server?
     
  4. abezborodova

    abezborodova Guest

    0
     
    Please check number of file descriptors used on the publishing server and let us know what you get. Several Sitebuilder modules use PHP, and their execution may cause Segmentation fault (11) or blank pages. Try enabling display_errors in PHP configuration to see the error instead of the blank page.
     
  5. swopedesign

    swopedesign Regular Pleskian

    25
    57%
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do not understand "# of file descriptors"

    I do not understand the request to report the # of file descriptors. Please explain.
     
  6. swopedesign

    swopedesign Regular Pleskian

    25
    57%
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wasn't clear

    I wasn't clear. It may make a difference. Firefox, instead of loading a blank page in the modules, wants to DOWNLOAD the PHP page! The result is a blank file (empty).
     
  7. swopedesign

    swopedesign Regular Pleskian

    25
    57%
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    PHP errors - none

    I've turned on display_errors in a .htaccess file, but no errors are displayed. Even the downloaded file does not have errors listed. It is blank.
     
  8. abezborodova

    abezborodova Guest

    0
     
    Please see my reply to Dupont provided earlier today.
     
  9. swopedesign

    swopedesign Regular Pleskian

    25
    57%
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    File Descriptors OK

    The File descriptors are fine at this time.
    entered into VE 727
    -bash-3.00# ps axf | grep httpd | grep -v grep
    23923 ? Ss 0:20 /usr/sbin/httpd
    25948 ? S 0:00 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    23959 ? S 0:12 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    24068 ? S 0:11 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    24358 ? S 0:07 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    24362 ? S 0:11 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    24371 ? S 0:11 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    24373 ? S 0:16 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    26339 ? S 0:08 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    1740 ? S 0:07 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    1745 ? S 0:08 \_ /usr/sbin/httpd
    -bash-3.00# ls /proc/23923/fd/ | wc -l
    134

    This is the response I received from my server admin.

    We are indeed using Plesk. We are currently on PHP 5.0.4, and will be upgrading PHP 5.1.6 to try to solve this problem. Is this the correct next step?
     
  10. abezborodova

    abezborodova Guest

    0
     
    I do not think PHP update may resolve the problem, however who knows..
    I advise you to contact Parallels support (http://www.parallels.com/en/support/sitebuilder) to have them login to the server, investigate the problem and provide a solution.
     
  11. Mike Wendricks

    Mike Wendricks Guest

    0
     
    how to fix this?

    Since day 1 our sitebuilder is doing the same thing and customers haven't been able to use the modules without crashing. Can someone at Parallels please contact me so we can have this resolved?

    Thank you!
     
  12. JustinR

    JustinR Guest

    0
     
    See this KB article:
    http://kb.odin.com/en/5244

    After downloading the latest ioncube loader for my version of PHP, everything worked just fine for me.
     
Loading...