• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Panic, possibly need to restore my VPS Need advice please

larkum

New Pleskian
Ok I will try and make this as short as possible, I am still new to Plesk, and this will be the first time I have had to do a restore, or had any issues.

The problem which I have no idea what the actual cause was;

On the early hours of Saturday Morning, my server crashed, I have no idea what happened after it was brought back online by my host I got this error (Bellow), and all sites that run with MySQL where down unable to find the database.

ERROR: Zend_Db_Adapter_Exception: SQLSTATE[HY000] [2002] No such file or directory (Abstract.php:144)

My Host stated said 'Please bear in mind that the VPS is a self managed service, please get access to the server through SSH and attempt to run the commands mentioned in this tutorial:
http://kb.odin.com/en/120312'

So I followed the tutorial, with no joy, I then did some more googling and investing, I found that mysql.sock was missing, (I have no idea how it works or is made) I kept looking, going through loads of tutorials telling me to try this and try that.

So I can only think of 1 last thing, would it be best to rebuild (restore) my VPS and restore from my FTP backup?

My concern, when I got the ftp Backup, I only ever imagined that I would need to retrieve files and folders from it, so by doing a full restore, even if this is possible would this fix the issue and would I get back everything.

Or is their a way that I can re install the server components without affecting any files, databases, accounts, and settings.

I am really confused, and really I just need someone to point me in the right direction to get this fixed and my clients sites back up and running, before they miss too many emails.