• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Plesk 10.4.x makes having a compiled version of php NOT USABLE ! plesk 6,7,8,9 are ok

andyb-uk

New Pleskian
Hi

I have been using Plesk in a hosting environment for over 6 years now.

One of the common things our clients ask for is a custom compiled version of PHP.

In the past I have always just compiled from source to /usr/local/php_apache and /usr/local/php_cgi - usually i symlink /usr/bin/php5-cgi to /usr/local/php_cgi/bin/php-cgi - this has always been fine (for years...)

With the changes in the latest version (10.4.x) the Plesk autoupdates randomly change the version of php randomly back to the original os version (thus breakiing everyone's sites !!!)

- In Debian/Ubuntu I can't hold the package (in apt) or Plesk is not able to update - it actually managed to get debian depency hell (pretty rare)
- The same occurs in Centos btw (with plesk 10.4.x)

To try to combat this I am now atempting to make ubuntu 8.04 debian packages of php 5.3.10 (for example) - this would 'fix' the issue as the version number will be higher that the version in the OS so it will not automatically updated (as its a higer version number) - this is however a far far far more complex task than just compiling from source...

For example I have an ubuntu8.04 server that requires the latest 5.3.x PHP - normally I would just compile from source, it would be a 30 mins job max - right now i'm on day 2 of trying to backport ubuntu 12.04 php5 packages to 8.04 - The thing is if they were runnig Plesk 9 I wouldn't need to bother creating packages (a simple source install works)

Is there an actual sane method to have a compiled version of PHP, and ensure it won't randomly change and still update Plesk ??

- Right now I am advising clients to stick with Plesk9 / use cpanel