• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Plesk 7 DNS Problems w/1 IP Address - Total N00B

D

dataflurry

Hi! I have basic knowledge of creating accounts and using plesk, however this is my first time setting up a dedicated server and creating the DNS!

I bought my server through Ipower which only gives you one IP Address, and I am trying to setup my own Nameservers at NS.DATAFLURRY.COM & NS1.DATAFLURRY.COM

I am currently using godaddy and it appears that this would be pretty simple if I had 2 IP Addresses because I could just connect the 2 IP Addresses with the nameservers, however like I said earlier I only have 1 IP.

Also what are the major steps that have to be taken within plesk 7 admin panel in order to have the nameservers resolve properly. Thanks a ton for your help. I was trying to do my research but I think I am going to cause more problems than solutions!

godaddy require 2 ips, you need to get another ip from your provider, it is justifiable according to arin rules as far as I know.

you set A entries for your domain servers, and NS + A entries for every domain that use those nameservers to resolve.

I apologize, because I am very new to this. So in Godaddy, I simply need to point IP #1 to NS.DATAFLURRY.COM & IP #2 TO NS1.DATAFLURY.COM

Then in plesk admin I am going to have to create NS entries and A entries with the NS attributes. All of these entries must point custom to my main domain name as well? For ex NS.dataflurry.com & NS1.dataflurry.com will be entered under custom NS in Plesk, etc? Thanks very much for your help!

After you have set your nameservers in godaddy, you set the A entries for them:

ns1.dataflurry.com. A xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
ns2.dataflurry.com. A xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is the IP

then for your domain, and every other domain you: