• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Resolved Plesk Virtualization Station on a home qnap server

Salamanca

New Pleskian
Server operating system version
ubuntu 22.0
Plesk version and microupdate number
Plesk Obsidian v18.0.56
Hi,
First of all i am a beginner in the world of linux and plesk , I have the latest version of plesk running Plesk Obsidian v18.0.56 os ubuntu 22.0 on a virtual station on my qnap nas , now here's the tricky part , i have a domain name hosted at namecheap and i can't manage to resolve the dns at all , my virtual machine is on local ip https://mylocalip:8443/ manage to aaccess plesk without issues but now i will need a public ip and here where the confusing go high lol , can i use my router wan static public IP and if yes ? do i need to forward any ports on the router ?

I have followed every step on namecheap , i did add my local wan ip in the namecheap personal dns server as well as Custom dns , they are all correct but can't resolve dns . Any help would be appreciated . Thanks.

The easiest approach is to configure a DMZ on your router, pointing to the local IP address of your Plesk installation. Be aware that this method will forward other (all) TCP/UDP ports, even those you might not be using, which can pose a security risk.

A safer alternative is to forward only TCP port 80 and TCP port 443 to the local IP of your Plesk installation, and this will enable access to your website from the WAN IP.

Note that some routers may have faulty routing, and DMZ/port forwarding might not work within the local network. You should always perform 2 separate tests and compare the results: one from your local network and one from another internet connection.

If you have an ISP with carrier-grade NAT, none of these methods will work.