• Halloween is coming! To celebrate the occasion, we dusted off a couple of old skins, and even created a brand new one (Pixel).
    To get into the festive spirit, install the Skins extension.
  • The new Python extension is now available. It allows customers to deploy and manage WSGI-based Python applications on their websites directly from Plesk.
  • The Plesk Mobile apps for iOS and Android and the Plesk Mobile Center extension have been deprecated, and are no longer available for new installations. In Plesk Obsidian 18.0.84, the Plesk Mobile Center extension will be removed from servers during the upgrade, and the Plesk Mobile apps will lose their server management features.
  • The Social Login extension has been deprecated and will be removed in Plesk Obsidian 18.0.84. After that, it will no longer be possible to log in to Plesk with a Google, Facebook, GitHub account, or with a passkey. Plesk usernames and passwords, as well as logging in with a WebPros Account, are not affected.

Python27 permission access

ShamirP

New Pleskian
Hi all

I'm fairly new to plesk and am just baffled on a problem which has been occurring in recent weeks.

Plesk come's with Python 2.4 installed, however a client had created a Django sites using python 2.7. So using the "Web Platform Installer" i had installed python 2.7.

As default this installed Python2.7 in the root of the C:

Once Python2.7 was installed and running, to get the website to run I had to make sure usergroup psacln would have access to the python.27 directory. Otherwise i would see a server error.

The permissions seem to reset weekly, which baffled me. The only conclusion i came to was that plesk was set to install updated automatically and when these updated get installed, permissions set to anything not in the plesk installation directory are revoked.


Has anyone else had this problem? if so, how did you over come this.
 
To resolve this problem you need to re-install your Python 2.7 to Plesk directory %plesk_dir%\Additional. This folder is allowed for psacln group and permissions are never changed.
 
Back
Top