• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Qmail Sucks!

N

nveid

Will you guys ever switch to something more normal, that most people out there know how to use? And is proven much more reliable, I've been using plesk for about 6 or 7 months now and I swear about 80% of my problems have had to do with qmail. It breaks, it sucks, and it needs to go. When on the other hand, I used postfix for about 4 or 5 years, only times I ever had problems with that is when I was making some drastic changes in how it was relaying **** by making obscure changes to the configure files.. I do not have to even /touch qmail/ and it decides to break. Get rid of that god forsaken package and goto something much more reliable like postfix.
Thank you, That is all

Hmm... maybe I'm guessing - but... could the fact that you have problems be related to the fact that you just dosen't know QMail?

I've been using QMail for quite some years now - and I have to say - that I've really not have had any big problems.

And yes, if we argue about changing MTA in Plesk 'cause lack of new features I would also like to see some active changes - but to change Qmail just because some guys don't think its reliable is not how it should work.

QMail _IS_ proven technology and is reliable and hopefully the use of QMail enables SW-Soft to still provide good support when/if trouble arise.

I can't recognize your description about qmail breaking easily. It just runs and runs here.

tell me the way to add greylisting in qmail (qmail should work with plesk8 after, too).

And some hints about adding SA to qmail whould be great, too. (without the plesk-sa-module)

With postfix/exim both are 5-minutes-tasks.

Search around this forum and you'll find plenty of hints on how to do it!

Buy 4PSA Spam Guardian or 4PSA Clean Server etc. - they do it.