• If you are still using CentOS 7.9, it's time to convert to Alma 8 with the free centos2alma tool by Plesk or Plesk Migrator. Please let us know your experiences or concerns in this thread:
    CentOS2Alma discussion

Ruby on Rails - WORKING

Z

zero@

This is how I got Ruby on Rails (RoR) working on my Plesk machine. I didn't find any major problems with Plesk's implementation, although it took me about 6 hours of trial-and-error to get it working right. SWSoft - you could seriously use some documentation for each Operating System you support.

My OS: Debian stable, using the default Rails package and fcgid. In this entry, I will try to remember everything I did to get it working. I may forget something. Your system may be different than mine. You may use yum instead of apt-get. All I know is what I know (which is not much), but I will try to help out anyone who needs help. Hopefully others will join in.

Before we begin, some warnings: I am not an expert! Be careful with what I show you here. I may be completely off-base, and if I am, please feel free to tell me. The instructions are Debian-centric, so you may have things installed in different places. Line numbers that I give below might be different on your machines, or in future versions of Rails, so use your best judgment when making changes.

Also, VERY important: It is NEVER good practice to create applications directly on your server! You should do development on a local development server, or your own workstation, and then transfer it to your server when you are fairly certain that it works and is secure. Any Rails application that I show below should NOT, under any circumstance, be left on your server for anything other than testing.

In these instructions, I try to be as generic as possible. Anything inside {brackets} should be changed to your own personal settings.